[BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Raspberry Pi related support

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby matock » 27 Nov 2015, 12:48

Hi Frank,

Those explanations are clear but I cannot find from where they are coming. The doc you mentioned in Rune > Settings (http://www.runeaudio.com/documentation/runeui/settings/) is different and less detailed.

Just for my info: why all the lines are commented in config.txt. Does it consume memory or cpu if we load them all? The idea is to allow the users to select their DAC card directly in the Rune config UI without tinkering manually system files. Another solution could be to select the card via the UI, then to update automatically the boot.txt file and to warn the user that the system will reboot.

In fact the user shouldn't have to do twice the same thing: the configuration should be done manually OR via the UI, but not both. This is not intuitive nor logical. This is just - I hope - a constructive remark.

Matock
Last edited by matock on 10 Dec 2015, 09:21, edited 1 time in total.
matock
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 22 Nov 2015, 18:43

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby Jan1959 » 27 Nov 2015, 16:26

Frank and or Matock

Is it possible to post the correct image somewhere on this site so everybody could download it without edit it.

@Matock, i support your vision how it should work. I think it will increase the number of satisfied users of Runeaudio.
Plug and play
Jan1959
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Oct 2015, 16:18

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby Jan1959 » 27 Nov 2015, 17:25

See no lines to edit or to unmark
Attachments
Knipsel.PNG
Knipsel.PNG (11.51 KiB) Viewed 1002 times
Jan1959
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Oct 2015, 16:18

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby hondagx35 » 27 Nov 2015, 17:47

Hi Matock,

Those explanations are clear but I cannot find from where they are coming.

They are from the UI.
Go to MENU->Settings and scroll down.

Just for my info: why all the lines are commented in boot.txt.

Because you can't enable multiple drivers at the same time (they all use I2S interface).

The idea is to allow the users to select their DAC card directly in the Rune config UI without tinkering manually system files.

You are absolutely right, but at the moment this is not possible.
As you may know, we support not only RaspberryPi.
We have images for ODROID, Cubietruck and the older PIs.
All these devices need different linux kernels, so the procedure to enable a special driver is not the same.
Only the "new" RP2 uses the so called device tree there you have to enable the drivers in /boot/config.txt.

The next image will consider all this.

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 3034
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby hondagx35 » 27 Nov 2015, 17:48

Hi Jan1959,

this is only valid for the PI2.

The file you have to edit is "/boot/config.txt"

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 3034
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby Jan1959 » 27 Nov 2015, 18:13

I have an XBMC-2B-HIFIBERRYY
Hifiberry + Bord1 x Rca

How should i enable the drivers
Last edited by Jan1959 on 27 Nov 2015, 18:40, edited 1 time in total.
Jan1959
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Oct 2015, 16:18

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby hondagx35 » 27 Nov 2015, 18:23

Hi Jan1959,

this should be a HifiBerry DAC+.

So open the file /boot/config.txt and remove the # in front of "device_tree_overlay=hifiberry-dacplus".
Code: Select all
# Uncomment one of these lines to enable an audio interface
#device_tree_overlay=hifiberry-dac
device_tree_overlay=hifiberry-dacplus
#device_tree_overlay=hifiberry-digi
#device_tree_overlay=hifiberry-amp
#device_tree_overlay=iqaudio-dac
#device_tree_overlay=iqaudio-dacplus


Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 3034
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby Jan1959 » 27 Nov 2015, 20:57

Frank, MPD says HifiBerry Dac+ :D

Thank you for your help. Tomorrow listing to the music with the hifiberry+
.
Jan1959
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Oct 2015, 16:18

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby Jan1959 » 28 Nov 2015, 08:33

First hour of listning is over.
The PI and hifiberry come to life with Runeaudio.
Really good sound. The GUI of runeaudio does a good job

Thanks to your service.

Hit the donate button
Jan1959
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Oct 2015, 16:18

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby tbahrman » 22 Jan 2016, 06:31

I'm getting a "command not found" error when I try to run the refresh_ao command. The HiFiBerry DAV+ does not appear as an option under the Audio output interface drop-down menu on the MPD page after executing these commands. See the dialog session below...


Last login: Fri Jan 22 06:32:02 2016 from 192.168.1.75
[root@runeaudio ~]# redis-cli hset acards_details snd_rpi_hifiberry_dacplus "{\"sysname\":\"snd_rpi_hifiberry_dacplus\",\"extlabel\":\"HiFiBerry DAC+ (I²S)\",\"mixer_numid\":\"1\",\"mixer_control\":\"Playback Digital\",\"hwplatformid\":\"01\",\"type\":\"i2s\"}"
(integer) 0
[root@runeaudio ~]# refresh_ao
-bash: refresh_ao: command not found
[root@runeaudio ~]#

Thanks!
Tom
tbahrman
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 Jan 2016, 18:16

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

PreviousNext

Return to Raspberry Pi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests