[BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Raspberry Pi related support

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby hondagx35 » 20 Feb 2016, 20:02

Hi maxchess,

you have to enable I2S on the settings page first.

Frank

@PeteB

He uses a Pi1 not a Pi2, so this will not work for him.
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 3034
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby maxchess » 20 Feb 2016, 21:47

Great thanks, OK that worked, now the system plays through the DAC+ but no hardware volume control, and software volume control doesn't work either with HiFiBerry selected.
config.sys doesn't contain anything dac related stuff, assume thats for Pi2.
So any thoughts on how I get hardware volume control going that the DAC+ says it supports?
User avatar
maxchess
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Feb 2016, 18:28

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby maxchess » 20 Feb 2016, 22:04

Correction: software volume control does work, but not Hardware
User avatar
maxchess
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Feb 2016, 18:28

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby mikbraga » 29 Feb 2016, 16:22

I'm trying to apply the fix, but after the execution of the first line of command, the refresh_ao command is not working and I don't get the Dac+ in the list of the output.

Running a Raspberry PI 2 + HifyBerry DAC+ Pro and RuneAudio 0.3 Beta

Is there something I'm missing?
mikbraga
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Feb 2016, 16:19

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby PeteB » 29 Feb 2016, 17:35

mikbraga wrote:...I don't get the Dac+ in the list of the output...
If you don't see your dac in the Audio Output Interface drop down list, I would first check /boot/config.txt again, and make sure that the comment symbol (the "#") has been removed from the correct line. Example:

Code: Select all
# Uncomment one of these lines to enable an audio interface
#device_tree_overlay=hifiberry-dac
device_tree_overlay=hifiberry-dacplus
#device_tree_overlay=hifiberry-digi
#device_tree_overlay=hifiberry-amp
#device_tree_overlay=iqaudio-dac
#device_tree_overlay=iqaudio-dacplus
PeteB
 
Posts: 421
Joined: 06 Feb 2016, 05:07

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby hondagx35 » 29 Feb 2016, 17:38

Hi mikbraga,

to get the Hifiberry DAC + pro working you have to update the kernel first.
Please search the forum.
Code: Select all
pacman -Sy --force raspberrypi-firmware-bootloader linux-raspberrypi


After that check the config, like PeteB told you.

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 3034
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby mikbraga » 04 Mar 2016, 10:56

Thanks for the support.

I did the kernel update and after the config.txt file fix the HiFiBerry DAC+ is now in the list.

With the nightly build (I did try this to use the android app) the HW volume control was working, but now, after a clean reinstall of the 0.3 beta + kernel update + config.txt edit I can't get the HW volume control working any more.

Do you need the nightly build for the hw volume control to work properly?

Thx
mikbraga
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Feb 2016, 16:19

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby PeteB » 12 Mar 2016, 06:03

@mikbraga:

Try this (unless Frank has a better suggestion):

Code: Select all
redis-cli hset acards_details snd_rpi_hifiberry_dacplus "{\"sysname\":\"snd_rpi_hifiberry_dacplus\",\"extlabel\":\"HiFiBerry DAC+ (I²S)\",\"mixer_numid\":\"1\",\"mixer_control\":\"PCM\",\"hwplatformid\":\"01\",\"type\":\"i2s\"}"

and

Code: Select all
/srv/http/command/refresh_ao

and reboot.

This is abstracted from some of Frank's posts earlier in this thread, and worked to enable hw volume control on my DAC+

The two commands above were my last step to getting it working, after the config.txt edits. After all that, the Remote Control Android app is also working well for me. On an old Nexus tablet it is an improvement over the browser, and coexists peacefully with the Kodi Remote App, and Bubble UpNP.

Btw, I'll be curious to read how you like the DAC+ Pro.
PeteB
 
Posts: 421
Joined: 06 Feb 2016, 05:07

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby mikbraga » 15 Mar 2016, 10:19

Thank you, I'll try your tipe as soon as I find the time to gol back working on my Raspberry PI setup.

I'll post a feedback and my opinion about it here ;)

Have a nice day
mikbraga
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Feb 2016, 16:19

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby smallfat » 02 Apr 2016, 18:59

Hi,

How to SSH login RP3?
Like ODROID?

Login ID: root
PW: runeaudio

RGDS
smallfat
 
Posts: 155
Joined: 23 Nov 2015, 22:16

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

PreviousNext

Return to Raspberry Pi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cmh714 and 10 guests
cron