Wolfson Audio Card patch for RuneAudio

Raspberry Pi related support

Re: Wolfson Audio Card patch for RuneAudio

Postby nofx » 04 Aug 2014, 11:29

will-1 wrote:I ordered a Wolfson for my Pi, but sadly no sound output from it with Runeaduio 0.3. :roll:

After I follow your method, the runeaudio can't boot up....

+1
Made the same experience.
how did the cat get so fat?
User avatar
nofx
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 11 Dec 2013, 19:26
Location: Württemberg

Re: Wolfson Audio Card patch for RuneAudio

Postby dryce » 06 Aug 2014, 13:11

The patch is already integrated into rune 0.3 so you don't need to apply the patch for 0.3. You do have to run the usecase script for the connection you're using though. I couldn't find the scripts in the rune file system so I copied them from the patch here.
dryce
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 12 Jun 2014, 22:34

Re: Wolfson Audio Card patch for RuneAudio

Postby will-1 » 06 Aug 2014, 16:15

dryce wrote:The patch is already integrated into rune 0.3 so you don't need to apply the patch for 0.3. You do have to run the usecase script for the connection you're using though. I couldn't find the scripts in the rune file system so I copied them from the patch here.


Hi, thanks for your reply, could you explain more for "use case script" as there is no sound output form my wolfson card after I installed the rune 0.3.
will-1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 15 Jun 2014, 06:54

Re: Wolfson Audio Card patch for RuneAudio

Postby nofx » 06 Aug 2014, 16:41

will-1 wrote:...Hi, thanks for your reply, could you explain more for "use case script" as there is no sound output form my wolfson card after I installed the rune 0.3.
+1 again. Same situation.
how did the cat get so fat?
User avatar
nofx
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 11 Dec 2013, 19:26
Location: Württemberg

Re: Wolfson Audio Card patch for RuneAudio

Postby dryce » 06 Aug 2014, 21:56

If you unzip the patch there are a bunch of scripts that tells the system which connection (such as line out, headphone, spdif, etc) to output audio to. They end in .sh You have to call the script you need via the command line.I will be able to be more specific here in a few. Just getting off work. I think the scripts are in root folder, but I'll check.
dryce
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 12 Jun 2014, 22:34

Re: Wolfson Audio Card patch for RuneAudio

Postby dryce » 07 Aug 2014, 01:22

http://cpc.farnell.com/images/en_CC/WolfsonRPiSoundcardManual.pdff

Look at pages 7-9. It explains how to use the scripts better than I ever could. On page 8 it gives the name of the use case scripts. I am attaching a file with just the use case scripts without the patch to make it easier. I'm not sure why, but they don't appear to be in the RuneAudio image.

Basically you just want to use ./ in front of the script name to execute it.
Attachments
usecase.zip
use case scripts for wolfson
(13.49 KiB) Downloaded 556 times
dryce
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 12 Jun 2014, 22:34

Re: Wolfson Audio Card patch for RuneAudio

Postby will-1 » 07 Aug 2014, 02:13

dryce wrote:http://cpc.farnell.com/images/en_CC/WolfsonRPiSoundcardManual.pdff

Look at pages 7-9. It explains how to use the scripts better than I ever could. On page 8 it gives the name of the use case scripts. I am attaching a file with just the use case scripts without the patch to make it easier. I'm not sure why, but they don't appear to be in the RuneAudio image.

Basically you just want to use ./ in front of the script name to execute it.


Thank you very much for your help, I will try it when I get off form work tonight. :D
will-1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 15 Jun 2014, 06:54

Re: Wolfson Audio Card patch for RuneAudio

Postby dryce » 07 Aug 2014, 02:22

My pleasure. I did the very same thing when I first setup rune. I installed everything, created the image, and then spent some time trying to figure out why there was no sound. :D
dryce
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 12 Jun 2014, 22:34

Re: Wolfson Audio Card patch for RuneAudio

Postby will-1 » 07 Aug 2014, 15:49

dryce wrote:My pleasure. I did the very same thing when I first setup rune. I installed everything, created the image, and then spent some time trying to figure out why there was no sound. :D


That's work!! Thanks!!! :D :lol:
will-1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 15 Jun 2014, 06:54

Re: Wolfson Audio Card patch for RuneAudio

Postby johnbanks » 08 Aug 2014, 14:51

I've got 0.3 ALPHA running on my RPi/Wolfson and streaming via wireless from my NAS. This is what I did ....

Firstly, go to Menu > Settings and switch to the Wolfson kernel then Apply Settings and Reboot.
But here's no sound at this point until a Wolfson script is run ...

Saman’s (forum member) Wolfson version for 0.2 BETA has a directory /root/use_case_scripts so doing the same for 0.3 ALPHA ...
Using puTTY, create this directory and copy into it the file Playback_to_Lineout.sh

Now create a cron job to run this script at boot up ...
Do export EDITOR=nano
Do crontab –e and insert the following line then save & exit

@reboot ./root/use_case_scripts/Playback_to_Lineout.sh

Do systemctl enable cronie.service
Do systemctl unmask cronie.service
Do systemctl start cronie.service

Now do crontab –l to check that the cron job(s) is there

Now do systemctl status cronie to check that cronie is running

Power down properly via RuneAudio.

Fire up again ... it works ... no need to run the script via puTTy

Hope this helps
johnbanks
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 11 Jun 2014, 00:16

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

PreviousNext

Return to Raspberry Pi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cmh714 and 4 guests