I2s using hifiberry dac pro raspberry 3

Raspberry Pi related support

I2s using hifiberry dac pro raspberry 3

Postby pistollero » 17 May 2016, 21:25

Hello, i need some help. I m using hfberry dac pro i2s out to another dac but i have problems because i can only play 24 bit files or 32. 16 bit flac or wav i get white noise. How can i change mpd.conf to feed 24 bit? I tried by ssh but when i reboot it erases the line.

I was thinking if is a bug of the hifiberry driver or not.
pistollero
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 19 Nov 2014, 12:27

Re: I2s using hifiberry dac pro raspberry 3

Postby PeteB » 18 May 2016, 03:09

pistollero wrote:...i can only play 24 bit files or 32. 16 bit flac or wav i get white noise. ...

Can you ex[plain this in a little more detail please?

List which files you tried, which files play, and which do not. Separately, not in one sentence. With that information, someone can probably help you.
PeteB
 
Posts: 421
Joined: 06 Feb 2016, 05:07

Re: I2s using hifiberry dac pro raspberry 3

Postby pistollero » 18 May 2016, 08:00

PeteB wrote:
pistollero wrote:...i can only play 24 bit files or 32. 16 bit flac or wav i get white noise. ...

Can you ex[plain this in a little more detail please?

List which files you tried, which files play, and which do not. Separately, not in one sentence. With that information, someone can probably help you.

Ok:
16 bit wav : white noise
16 bit flac : white noise

24 bit mp3: ok
24.192 flac: ok

If i use archphile and change mpd.conf to format to 24 bit or 24_3 or 32 everything plays ok.

So the problem is on 16 bit files.
but on rune i cannot change mpd.conf.
pistollero
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 19 Nov 2014, 12:27

Re: I2s using hifiberry dac pro raspberry 3

Postby PeteB » 18 May 2016, 13:44

Hi,

I would try to confirm what is actually being sent to your DAC when you get the white noise. Maybe you have done that already, but if not, look at the sound car hw parameters. The DAC will be card1 or card0 (not sure which it would be for you). So, one of these commands while playing should do it:

Code: Select all
cat /proc/asound/card1/pcm0p/sub0/hw_params

cat /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/sub0/hw_params
PeteB
 
Posts: 421
Joined: 06 Feb 2016, 05:07

Re: I2s using hifiberry dac pro raspberry 3

Postby hondagx35 » 18 May 2016, 14:09

Hi pistollero,

I m using hfberry dac pro i2s out to another dac

Please give us a bit more details on that.

You can try:
- edit the file "/srv/http/db/redis_acards_details"
from
Code: Select all
$redis->hSet('acards_details', 'snd_rpi_hifiberry_dacplus', '{"sysname":"snd_rpi_hifiberry_dacplus","extlabel":"HiFiBerry DAC+ (I²S)","mixer_numid":"1","mixer_control":"Digital","hwplatformid":"01","type":"i2s"}');

to
Code: Select all
$redis->hSet('acards_details', 'snd_rpi_hifiberry_dacplus', '{"sysname":"snd_rpi_hifiberry_dacplus","extlabel":"HiFiBerry DAC+ (I²S)","mixer_numid":"1","card_option":"format\t\"*:32:*\"","mixer_control":"Digital","hwplatformid":"01","type":"i2s"}');


- execute these commands:
Code: Select all
redis-cli del acards
php /srv/http/db/redis_acards_details


- reboot
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 3042
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: I2s using hifiberry dac pro raspberry 3

Postby pistollero » 18 May 2016, 23:05

PeteB wrote:Hi,

I would try to confirm what is actually being sent to your DAC when you get the white noise. Maybe you have done that already, but if not, look at the sound car hw parameters. The DAC will be card1 or card0 (not sure which it would be for you). So, one of these commands while playing should do it:

Code: Select all
cat /proc/asound/card1/pcm0p/sub0/hw_params

cat /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/sub0/hw_params

access: RW_INTERLEAVED
format: S16_LE
subformat: STD
channels:2
rate: 44100 (352800/8)
period_size:4410
buffer_size: 22050
pistollero
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 19 Nov 2014, 12:27

Re: I2s using hifiberry dac pro raspberry 3

Postby pistollero » 18 May 2016, 23:16

hondagx35 wrote:Hi pistollero,

I m using hfberry dac pro i2s out to another dac

Please give us a bit more details on that.

You can try:
- edit the file "/srv/http/db/redis_acards_details"
from
Code: Select all
$redis->hSet('acards_details', 'snd_rpi_hifiberry_dacplus', '{"sysname":"snd_rpi_hifiberry_dacplus","extlabel":"HiFiBerry DAC+ (I²S)","mixer_numid":"1","mixer_control":"Digital","hwplatformid":"01","type":"i2s"}');

to
Code: Select all
$redis->hSet('acards_details', 'snd_rpi_hifiberry_dacplus', '{"sysname":"snd_rpi_hifiberry_dacplus","extlabel":"HiFiBerry DAC+ (I²S)","mixer_numid":"1","card_option":"format\t\"*:32:*\"","mixer_control":"Digital","hwplatformid":"01","type":"i2s"}');


- execute these commands:
Code: Select all
redis-cli del acards
php /srv/http/db/redis_acards_details


- reboot

hi,
i did that and now it plays ok :)
pistollero
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 19 Nov 2014, 12:27

Re: I2s using hifiberry dac pro raspberry 3

Postby pistollero » 18 May 2016, 23:19

buttttt i still cannot play spotify.... on spotify i ear the same evil white noise
pistollero
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 19 Nov 2014, 12:27

Re: I2s using hifiberry dac pro raspberry 3

Postby hondagx35 » 19 May 2016, 00:18

Hi,

pistollero wrote:buttttt i still cannot play spotify.... on spotify i ear the same evil white noise

Spotify doesn't use MPD, so the changes are not valid for Spotify.

I m using hfberry dac pro i2s out to another dac

Please give us a bit more details on that.

????

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 3042
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: I2s using hifiberry dac pro raspberry 3

Postby pistollero » 19 May 2016, 18:10

Do you have any patch so i can listen to spotify?
pistollero
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 19 Nov 2014, 12:27

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

Next

Return to Raspberry Pi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest