Change Play/Pause Button Display

Raspberry Pi related support

Change Play/Pause Button Display

Postby R101 » 28 Jan 2018, 17:51

Is there a simple way to change the display of the play/pause button so that you press a pause symbol to pause, and a play symbol to continue playing?

The Rune default (press play to pause/press pause to play) has always seemed wrong to me.
(Pi 3B, rAudio-1, JLS I2S over USB)
R101
 
Posts: 343
Joined: 29 Apr 2016, 16:16

Re: Change Play/Pause Button Display

Postby rern » 31 Jan 2018, 05:14

They are toggle buttons + status.

Buttuns
01.png
01.png (36.02 KiB) Viewed 1642 times

Toggle buttons
02.png
02.png (37.51 KiB) Viewed 1642 times


But if you preferred:
Code: Select all
# if RuneUI Enhancement installed:
sed -i -e 's/fa-play\(.*addClass.*\)pause/fa-pause\1play/
' -e '0,/pause.*addClass.*play/ s/pause\(.*addClass.*\)play/play\1pause/
' /srv/http/assets/js/custom.js

# No RuneUI Enhancement
sed -i -e 's/fa-play\(.*addClass.*\)pause/fa-pause\1play/
' -e '0,/pause.*addClass.*play/ s/pause\(.*addClass.*\)play/play\1pause/
' /srv/http/assets/js/runeui.js

sed -i -e 's/fa-play\(.*addClass.*\)pause/fa-pause\1play/
s/pause\(.*addClass.*\)play/play\1pause/
' /srv/http/assets/js/runeui.min.js


If it confuses many people, may be I should make an addon.
Last edited by rern on 16 Feb 2018, 14:12, edited 5 times in total.
rAudio @ https://github.com/rern/rAudio-1
Raspberry Pi 4B
Raspberry Pi 3B > SMSL M8 DAC
Raspberry Pi Zero W
User avatar
rern
 
Posts: 723
Joined: 14 Jul 2016, 08:15

Re: Change Play/Pause Button Display

Postby janui » 31 Jan 2018, 08:15

Hi R101 & rern,
I would also prefer it to be displayed as R101 suggests.
It's not so much confusing, but it is inconsistent with most other players (youtube, spotify, etc., etc.).
janui
User avatar
janui
 
Posts: 704
Joined: 20 Dec 2014, 12:55
Location: Ollanda

Re: Change Play/Pause Button Display

Postby R101 » 31 Jan 2018, 14:25

Hi rern,

I don't understand much of your post, but I entered the command and it seems to work perfectly.

Thanks greatly for this: the unconventional display has bothered me ever since I started using Rune, and I cannot see any reason why your modification should not be the default, rather than an addon.
(Pi 3B, rAudio-1, JLS I2S over USB)
R101
 
Posts: 343
Joined: 29 Apr 2016, 16:16

Re: Change Play/Pause Button Display

Postby rern » 31 Jan 2018, 16:43

Hi R101,

If there were 2 separated buttons of play and pause, button that was press would lit up to show current status. When they're combined into a toggle, we have to choose to show status or function of it.

03.png
03.png (18.32 KiB) Viewed 1627 times


By the way, RuneUI Enhancement let you use touch gestures for all 5 controls. You should try top-bottom menu hiding and the buttons won't bother you anymore.
rAudio @ https://github.com/rern/rAudio-1
Raspberry Pi 4B
Raspberry Pi 3B > SMSL M8 DAC
Raspberry Pi Zero W
User avatar
rern
 
Posts: 723
Joined: 14 Jul 2016, 08:15

Re: Change Play/Pause Button Display

Postby ACX » 31 Jan 2018, 16:50

Since this seems a lot a matter of preference, I'm thinking in making this behaviour configurable in 2.0 :)
User avatar
ACX
RuneAudio co-founder
 
Posts: 1692
Joined: 29 Nov 2013, 02:25
Location: Udine, Italy

Re: Change Play/Pause Button Display

Postby R101 » 31 Jan 2018, 19:42

If there were 2 separated buttons of play and pause, button that was press would lit up to show current status. When they're combined into a toggle, we have to choose to show status or function of it.


I see your point, rern. Two buttons without any light, or three buttons plus the light would both look OK to me, but I do like to have the buttons on the screen. Perhaps, as Andrea says, having it configurable would be best. :|
(Pi 3B, rAudio-1, JLS I2S over USB)
R101
 
Posts: 343
Joined: 29 Apr 2016, 16:16

Re: Change Play/Pause Button Display

Postby R101 » 01 Feb 2018, 11:37

OK, after thinking about it, I vote for 3 buttons!
(Pi 3B, rAudio-1, JLS I2S over USB)
R101
 
Posts: 343
Joined: 29 Apr 2016, 16:16

Re: Change Play/Pause Button Display

Postby gcogger » 02 Feb 2018, 13:44

Just to add another data point, and this is strictly my own opinion...
I agree with the posters above. The current way (buttons show the state, not what the button does) is different to all the other software I've used, and confuses me every time I come back to Rune if I haven't used it for a while. I have to explain it to my wife pretty much every time she uses Rune. I genuinely thought it was a bug in the software, rather than deliberate behaviour!
gcogger
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Sep 2016, 22:51

Re: Change Play/Pause Button Display

Postby ceejayemm » 04 Feb 2018, 10:15

Configurable is always best to suit everybody but three buttons for me please. Also is there any way to make the buttons bigger - big fingers on a small touch (7in) screen leads to multiple buttons being pressed at the same time :-)

Chris
ceejayemm
 
Posts: 131
Joined: 29 Oct 2016, 18:13

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

Next

Return to Raspberry Pi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests