Hidden SSID and AP

Please report any bug found here

Hidden SSID and AP

Postby aistaca » 05 Jun 2017, 14:09

Hi all,

I'm quiet a newbie here and not sure if this is known bug or anything worth mentioning, but I'm gonna post it anyway. I'm using runeUI 0.4 beta rpi3 build 20170229 on Raspberry Pi3 using built-in WiFi. Hidden SSID is using WPA2 PSK encription with AES key, runeUI network set on DHCP.

1. (this seems to be mentioned somewhere in the forum) R̶u̶n̶e̶U̶I̶ ̶s̶e̶e̶m̶s̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶r̶e̶c̶o̶g̶n̶i̶z̶e̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶h̶i̶d̶d̶e̶n̶ ̶w̶i̶f̶i̶ ̶c̶o̶n̶n̶e̶c̶t̶i̶o̶n̶ ̶w̶h̶e̶n̶ ̶w̶i̶f̶i̶ ̶p̶r̶o̶f̶i̶l̶e̶ ̶i̶s̶ ̶a̶d̶d̶e̶d̶ ̶m̶a̶n̶u̶a̶l̶l̶y̶ ̶(̶n̶e̶t̶w̶o̶r̶k̶ ̶U̶I̶ ̶s̶h̶o̶w̶s̶ ̶h̶o̶w̶ ̶m̶u̶c̶h̶ ̶s̶i̶g̶n̶a̶l̶ ̶s̶t̶r̶e̶n̶g̶t̶h̶ ̶i̶t̶ ̶h̶a̶s̶)̶ b̶u̶t̶ ̶u̶n̶a̶b̶l̶e̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶c̶o̶n̶n̶e̶c̶t̶ ̶n̶o̶ ̶m̶a̶t̶t̶e̶r̶ ̶h̶o̶w̶ ̶m̶a̶n̶y̶ ̶t̶i̶m̶e̶s̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶c̶o̶n̶n̶e̶c̶t̶ ̶b̶u̶t̶t̶o̶n̶ ̶i̶s̶ ̶c̶l̶i̶c̶k̶e̶d̶. This was on the previous build 20160321, apparently now it shows unknown encription. This was fixed by removing the old wifi profile, enable the broadcast SSID from the router and connect through the discovered SSID panel.(common way to connect)

2. When AP is enabled and SSID still remain visible, runeaudio will connect to the saved network when available and host AP when unavailable (as what it is intended).

3. When AP function is turned off and SSID is turned back to hidden (assuming step no 1 has been done), runeaudio will connect to the hidden SSID (wifi profile is also shown in the GUI).

4. When the AP function is turned ON and SSID is hidden (assuming step no 1 has been done), runeaudio seems to not recognize the hidden network and proceed to host the AP, saved wifi profile is not visible in the GUI (it showed as no profile has been saved).

It doesn't really bother me much at the moment since I mainly use it at home, although it would be nice if this kind of minor problem can be fixed. See if anyone else can replicate this bug.

Cheers,

jimmy