Channel Swap wth 0.4, RP3, Digi+???

Please report any bug found here

Channel Swap wth 0.4, RP3, Digi+???

Postby KHatfull » 05 Oct 2016, 04:36

I thought I was going crazy...

I'm auditioning new heapdhones and bouncing around my music library like a madman. I would SWEAR that right in the middle of playback the right and left channels would swap randomly in the middle of songs. In a normal song this sounded like a funky audio artifact but it was noticeable.

BUT!

I was just listening to Al Stewart ~ Year of the Cat. If you're familiar with the song it starts with a piano riff TOTALLY in the right channel. 30 seconds or so in the song starts into both channels. While I was listening the first play of the song, about 10 seconds in the piano moved completely to the left channel. I stopped playback and started again. Completely normal.

I've listened to this FLAC file dozens of times via my old B+ (with the same Digi+) and 0.3. I know it's not the file. I know it's not the headphones.

Anyone else experience this?
Synology DS214+ -> RP3 -> Hifiberry Digi+ -> Audio-Gd NOS1704 (coax) -> Audio-GD C-2 preamp/headphone amp ->

1) Yamaha M-4 Power Amp -> Energy Pro 22 Speakers OR 2) HiFiMan HE-400i

Audio Nirvana!!!
KHatfull
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 01 Nov 2014, 05:59

Re: Channel Swap wth 0.4, RP3, Digi+???

Postby bieg » 06 Oct 2016, 19:10

Anyone else experience this?


Ja, I'm with you. Same hardware and Software (RB2/3 with Digi+, Rune 0.4). But here it only appears when the 7" touchscreen is connected to the RB.

Holger
bieg
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Oct 2016, 17:30
Location: Germany

Re: Channel Swap wth 0.4, RP3, Digi+???

Postby KHatfull » 06 Oct 2016, 19:46

bieg wrote:
Anyone else experience this?


Ja, I'm with you. Same hardware and Software (RB2/3 with Digi+, Rune 0.4). But here it only appears when the 7" touchscreen is connected to the RB.

Holger


It's VERY sporadic. I listened for 2 hours last night and didn't notice it once.

Does the touchscreen have a USB connection for the touch panel? I also have a USB HD plugged in...USB device of some sort in common?
Synology DS214+ -> RP3 -> Hifiberry Digi+ -> Audio-Gd NOS1704 (coax) -> Audio-GD C-2 preamp/headphone amp ->

1) Yamaha M-4 Power Amp -> Energy Pro 22 Speakers OR 2) HiFiMan HE-400i

Audio Nirvana!!!
KHatfull
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 01 Nov 2014, 05:59

Re: Channel Swap wth 0.4, RP3, Digi+???

Postby bieg » 07 Oct 2016, 20:19

No, it's a RB 7" Touchdisplay connected via DSI. At the USB is only a stick with the Flac-Files.

Here it appears in nearly every song. Without the display its fine. When it appears and I scroll back in the song via the circle it good again. I don't have to replay the song.

br
bieg
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Oct 2016, 17:30
Location: Germany

Re: Channel Swap wth 0.4, RP3, Digi+???

Postby hondagx35 » 07 Oct 2016, 20:48

Hi all,

please try to update the kernel.

* get access to the console (ssh)

* check the free space on your sd card (<=85%). If not resize your partition (see documentation)

* update the kernel and firmware (this is needed to get the EDIMAX dongle working and doesn't hurt anyway)
Code: Select all
pacman -Sy --force raspberrypi-firmware-bootloader linux-raspberrypi

EDIT: Is now:
Code: Select all
pacman -Sy --force raspberrypi-firmware raspberry-bootloader linux-raspberrypi


* add "dtparam=audio=on" to your /boot/config.txt
Code: Select all
    # Uncomment one of these lines to enable an audio interface
    #dtoverlay=hifiberry-dac
    #dtoverlay=hifiberry-dacplus
    #dtoverlay=hifiberry-digi
    #dtoverlay=hifiberry-amp
    #dtoverlay=iqaudio-dac
    #dtoverlay=iqaudio-dacplus
    dtparam=audio=on


* delete the file /etc/modules-load.d/ras....conf

Frank

- Get access to the console:
Use SSH from your PC
    If you are not familiar with SSH read this for Windows or this for Linux/MacOS
    The default login for RuneAudio is "root" with the password "rune" (without quotes).
User avatar
hondagx35
Moderator
 
Posts: 2476
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: Channel Swap wth 0.4, RP3, Digi+???

Postby KHatfull » 08 Oct 2016, 03:01

Got that done Frank, will report back after some listening.

Thanks!
Synology DS214+ -> RP3 -> Hifiberry Digi+ -> Audio-Gd NOS1704 (coax) -> Audio-GD C-2 preamp/headphone amp ->

1) Yamaha M-4 Power Amp -> Energy Pro 22 Speakers OR 2) HiFiMan HE-400i

Audio Nirvana!!!
KHatfull
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 01 Nov 2014, 05:59

Re: Channel Swap wth 0.4, RP3, Digi+???

Postby bieg » 08 Oct 2016, 20:27

Done. Now on 4.4.23.

After listened two hours I can say: Perfect, it works!

Thanks Frank.
bieg
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Oct 2016, 17:30
Location: Germany

Re: Channel Swap wth 0.4, RP3, Digi+???

Postby KHatfull » 09 Oct 2016, 01:24

bieg wrote:Done. Now on 4.4.23.

After listened two hours I can say: Perfect, it works!

Thanks Frank.


Yep, I listened for 4 hours since and played some of the songs that I noticed it on before. Not a one. Thanks Frank!!
Synology DS214+ -> RP3 -> Hifiberry Digi+ -> Audio-Gd NOS1704 (coax) -> Audio-GD C-2 preamp/headphone amp ->

1) Yamaha M-4 Power Amp -> Energy Pro 22 Speakers OR 2) HiFiMan HE-400i

Audio Nirvana!!!
KHatfull
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 01 Nov 2014, 05:59

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal


Return to Bug report

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests