Low Max Volume

Everything about Hi-Fi equipment

Low Max Volume

Postby JohnC » 08 Nov 2016, 19:04

Just switched from Volumio and like RuneAudio much better. The only thing is that the maximum volume with RuneAudio appears to me only 75% of what Volumio offers with the same setup (RPi to external DAC via USB). Beside pushing volume to 100 in UI, I tried a couple of other things, incl. disabling "Volume Control" in UI, and push 100 in Alsamixer. Neither seems to help. Any suggestion?

Thanks,
John
JohnC
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 08 Nov 2016, 18:51

Re: Low Max Volume

Postby hondagx35 » 08 Nov 2016, 22:56

Hi JohnC,

you have to get access to the console and check the alsamixer settings.

Code: Select all
alsamixer

Select your DAC (F6) and then check each setting available.

Frank

- Get access to the console:
Use SSH from your PC
    If you are not familiar with SSH read this for Windows or this for Linux/MacOS
    The default login for RuneAudio is "root" with the password "rune" (without quotes).
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 3039
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: Low Max Volume

Postby JohnC » 09 Nov 2016, 01:25

hondagx35 wrote:
Code: Select all
alsamixer

Select your DAC (F6) and then check each setting available.

Frank


Thanks, Frank! It works! "F6" was key as I did not pay enough attention to select the right DAC. :)

John
JohnC
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 08 Nov 2016, 18:51

Re: Low Max Volume

Postby KHatfull » 09 Nov 2016, 02:04

Alsamixer should retain that setting through a boot cycle as well.
Synology DS214+ -> RP3 -> Hifiberry Digi+ -> Audio-Gd NOS1704 (coax) -> Audio-GD C-2 preamp/headphone amp ->

1) Yamaha M-4 Power Amp -> Energy Pro 22 Speakers OR 2) HiFiMan HE-400i

Audio Nirvana!!!
KHatfull
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 01 Nov 2014, 05:59

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal


Return to Hi-Fi systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest