[BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Raspberry Pi related support

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby ACX » 03 Nov 2014, 01:38

Valek wrote:So I can reconfirm hardware volume works now. Just have a short question - the volume disk is usable only between 60 and 100, as when it reaches 60 the sound is almost off already. Between 60 and 100 it is therefore not so smooth as even a small change of volume disk changes the volume significantly. Is this an intended behavior?

Take a look at this thread:
volume-control-linear-or-logarithmic-t254.html
We are planning to implement a more natural custom volume control in a future version.
User avatar
ACX
RuneAudio co-founder
 
Posts: 1687
Joined: 29 Nov 2013, 02:25
Location: Udine, Italy

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby rhodo » 03 Nov 2014, 11:56

I've been away this weekend but tested your solution this morning and it works excellent (although the refresh_ao command produces a lot of errors). Hardware volume control works fine now, Thanks.
rhodo
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 31 Oct 2014, 15:19

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby Fin » 03 Nov 2014, 14:12

ACX wrote:We are planning to implement a more natural custom volume control in a future version.

Please do!

If possible, perhaps include customisation, so that the user can set the maximum level to match their amplifier choice.
Fin
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 17 Aug 2014, 09:25

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby aj78 » 04 Nov 2014, 20:47

Customisation of the max level (or perhaps different curves for different popular DACs) would be a great blessing: I have the IQaudio DAC, and 96% volume corresponds to 0dB. So if you put the volume to 100% and play a track that has been normalised, it clips.... It would be nice if, when you do the volume curve mapping for this DAC, setting 100% on the RuneUI actually sent 96% to the hardware.
aj78
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 29 Oct 2014, 20:42

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby Stwert » 04 Nov 2014, 22:00

Yes, I would also vote for a remapping of the range to better fit with what the actual values from alsamixer are doing. (Using IQAudIO DAC+)
I realize this is a bit off thread topic, but there seems to be a discussion here already so I thought I would throw in my vote too.
Stwert
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 01:58

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby shakey102001 » 07 Nov 2014, 14:20

Second that thought (IQaudio Pi-dac)
shakey102001
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Jul 2014, 11:15

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby ICLlP » 09 Nov 2014, 20:40

ACX wrote:Hi andy.room,
HiFiBerry Digi/Digi+ don't have hardware volume control.

What is Hardware Volume Control?
ICLlP
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 30 Apr 2014, 07:52

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby Triodefreak » 13 Nov 2014, 20:08

No joy so far.

Step 1. I login in with user: root and password:

After executing your step 2: I see : " (integer) 0"

After executing step 3: I see: " Locked!"

And I can't go to step 4 since I have to use the ip address.

But when I go to ip addres http://192.168.178.27/mpd/ I cannot choose the hifiberry dac+

Kind regards,
Bas
Attachments
rune2.gif
rune2.gif (27.1 KiB) Viewed 5419 times
rune.jpg
rune.jpg (53.35 KiB) Viewed 5419 times
Triodefreak
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 Nov 2014, 22:55

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby gswg » 19 Nov 2014, 21:02

A little off topic but alsa has calls that allow the application to get the range / max and min values from the sound card's driver.

In the IQaudIO Pi-DAC(s) I've set 100% to +4db, and 0% to -103.5db (mute on the TI PCM5122 DAC) I did this as the PCM5122 will actually allow you to go up to +23db or thereabouts and if you want clipping then that was what you achieved :-)

Anyway, just FYI

Gordon
gswg
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 21 Jan 2014, 21:04
Location: Glasgow

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby taizen » 22 Nov 2014, 18:24

Hi ACX,
with control volume in place with Hifiberry dac+ the sound of HiRes (24b 192kHz) has clicks and pause.
When I flash the SD Card, without volume control,It is very good !
Regards
taizen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 28 Sep 2014, 22:23

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

PreviousNext

Return to Raspberry Pi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests