[HELP] AUDIOPHONICS I-Sabre V3 DAC ES9023 TCXO

Raspberry Pi related support

Re: [HELP] AUDIOPHONICS I-Sabre V3 DAC ES9023 TCXO

Postby PeteB » 22 Apr 2016, 21:08

I hope you stick around. I read a few of your posts on Xbian, and at some point that experience would be useful here.

At least you have Raspbian under your belt. I started out with Berkely, and got here via Solaris/Sparc, another BSD, Debian, Ubuntu, and now Arch... and I still don't know what I am doing half the time. (and to think I was actually looking forward to Arch, b/c I thought it was closer to plain vanilla than Ubuntu! (...feel free to laugh now).
PeteB
 
Posts: 421
Joined: 06 Feb 2016, 05:07

Re: [HELP] AUDIOPHONICS I-Sabre V3 DAC ES9023 TCXO

Postby hondagx35 » 22 Apr 2016, 21:18

Hi ingohz,

The script is written a little strange. Wonder that the RasPi still has the time to play music.

You are absolutely right and a "little strange" is very friendly.
The script is coded by audiophonics, i only adapted it so rikardo has a working one.
Sorry but i do not have the motivation to do audiophonics work.

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 3039
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: [HELP] AUDIOPHONICS I-Sabre V3 DAC ES9023 TCXO

Postby PeteB » 22 Apr 2016, 21:46

hondagx35 wrote:...
You are absolutely right and a "little strange" is very friendly. ...

I for one feel better now. I thought I was having trouble reading it b/c it was late at night, and I ran out of beer too soon... ;)
PeteB
 
Posts: 421
Joined: 06 Feb 2016, 05:07

Re: [HELP] AUDIOPHONICS I-Sabre V3 DAC ES9023 TCXO

Postby rikardo1979 » 22 Apr 2016, 21:52

ingohz wrote:
rikardo1979 wrote:I would like to change the switching time between artist-title and also I would like to see IP address on display instead of runeaudio.local


search for "hostname --fqdn" and replace it with "ip route get 1 | awk '{print $NF;exit}'". This should display the IP instead of the hostname. The script is written a little strange. Wonder that the RasPi still has the time to play music.

thanks, working fine ;)
Feel free to write a better one ;)
Me and many more, we would be more than happy to use it

edit: any idea how to extend time delay between displaying artist-track info?
That is one of the last thing I miss :)
>>>Please always follow rules and read before you post<<<
User avatar
rikardo1979
 
Posts: 197
Joined: 10 Apr 2016, 14:34

Re: [HELP] AUDIOPHONICS I-Sabre V3 DAC ES9023 TCXO

Postby guillaumesej » 23 Apr 2016, 09:55

Hi,
I have a RPI3 + audiophonics DAC v3, and I've followed the instructions above to have the OLED screen working.
I've picked up the updated script version of v3.

Starting the OLED service doesn't do anything, and when I run
Code: Select all
python /usr/local/bin/16x2_oled_runeaudio.py
manually,
I get the following error:
Code: Select all
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "16x2_oled_runeaudio.py", line 36, in <module>
    import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
RuntimeError: This module can only be run on a Raspberry Pi!


Any ideas ?
guillaumesej
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Apr 2016, 16:28

Re: [HELP] AUDIOPHONICS I-Sabre V3 DAC ES9023 TCXO

Postby rikardo1979 » 23 Apr 2016, 09:57

guillaumesej wrote:Hi,
I have a RPI3 + audiophonics DAC v3, and I've followed the instructions above to have the OLED screen working.
I've picked up the updated script version of v3.

Starting the OLED service doesn't do anything, and when I run
Code: Select all
python /usr/local/bin/16x2_oled_runeaudio.py
manually,
I get the following error:
Code: Select all
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "16x2_oled_runeaudio.py", line 36, in <module>
    import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
RuntimeError: This module can only be run on a Raspberry Pi!


Any ideas ?


Hmm, just wondering if there is something different in RPi 3. I have the RPi 2 as that is the best one for audio applications
>>>Please always follow rules and read before you post<<<
User avatar
rikardo1979
 
Posts: 197
Joined: 10 Apr 2016, 14:34

Re: [HELP] AUDIOPHONICS I-Sabre V3 DAC ES9023 TCXO

Postby guillaumesej » 23 Apr 2016, 09:59

Found out this may be due to the version of RPi.GPIO version.
Only version 0.6.2 supports the PI3 board.

I'll give it a shot.
guillaumesej
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Apr 2016, 16:28

Re: [HELP] AUDIOPHONICS I-Sabre V3 DAC ES9023 TCXO

Postby guillaumesej » 23 Apr 2016, 10:02

So, after upgrading RPi.GPIO to 0.6.2, I get a slightly different error:

Code: Select all
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/bin/16x2_oled_runeaudio.py", line 258, in <module>
    main()
  File "/usr/local/bin/16x2_oled_runeaudio.py", line 96, in main
    lcd_string(ip_addr,LCD_LINE_2)       
  File "/usr/local/bin/16x2_oled_runeaudio.py", line 248, in lcd_string
    message = message.center(LCD_WIDTH," ")
TypeError: must be a byte string of length 1, not str


And after a reboot, the OLED does display something...
"Goodbye", right after startup.
Last edited by guillaumesej on 23 Apr 2016, 10:09, edited 1 time in total.
guillaumesej
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Apr 2016, 16:28

Re: [HELP] AUDIOPHONICS I-Sabre V3 DAC ES9023 TCXO

Postby rikardo1979 » 23 Apr 2016, 10:03

guillaumesej wrote:Found out this may be due to the version of RPi.GPIO version.
Only version 0.6.2 supports the PI3 board.

I'll give it a shot.

nice one ;)
If not I am sure you get some help from Frank or other guys who lives in Matrix (good with coding) :)

BTW, get RPi 2 as its better or at least make sure you disable WiFi and BT built in modules
>>>Please always follow rules and read before you post<<<
User avatar
rikardo1979
 
Posts: 197
Joined: 10 Apr 2016, 14:34

Re: [HELP] AUDIOPHONICS I-Sabre V3 DAC ES9023 TCXO

Postby rikardo1979 » 23 Apr 2016, 10:04

guillaumesej wrote:So, after upgrading RPi.GPIO to 0.6.2, I get a slightly different error:

Code: Select all
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/bin/16x2_oled_runeaudio.py", line 258, in <module>
    main()
  File "/usr/local/bin/16x2_oled_runeaudio.py", line 96, in main
    lcd_string(ip_addr,LCD_LINE_2)       
  File "/usr/local/bin/16x2_oled_runeaudio.py", line 248, in lcd_string
    message = message.center(LCD_WIDTH," ")
TypeError: must be a byte string of length 1, not str

you would need to modify your python script I believe to adapt to different GPIO ?
>>>Please always follow rules and read before you post<<<
User avatar
rikardo1979
 
Posts: 197
Joined: 10 Apr 2016, 14:34

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

PreviousNext

Return to Raspberry Pi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], cmh714 and 4 guests