Hardware volume control not working

Raspberry Pi related support

Re: Hardware volume control not working

Postby jlynton » 01 Oct 2018, 16:30

I have the same problem,Hardware volume control not working. Debug info here: https://pastebin.com/pys8AbCU

I can move the rotary volume control, and it stays wherever I leave it, but does not adjust the volume, which always stays at 100.

Hope you can help, many thanks
Jeremy
jlynton
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 20 May 2016, 12:53

Re: Hardware volume control not working

Postby hondagx35 » 01 Oct 2018, 16:51

Hi Jeremy,

your settings in mpd.conf are wrong.

Code: Select all
audio_output {
    name        "snd_rpi_justboom_dac"
    type        "alsa"
    device      "hw:1,0"
    mixer_control   "PCM"
    auto_resample   "no"
    auto_format     "no"
}


"mixer_control" should be "Digital" not "PCM" in your case.

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 3014
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: Hardware volume control not working

Postby jlynton » 01 Oct 2018, 17:08

Hello Frank,

I went to /etc/mpd.conf and saw a warning NOT to edit it manually, so I went to the MPD config section of the UI, but cannot find anywhere to change it.
Am I missing something, or should I go ahead and edit it manually?

Many thanks,

Jeremy

[edit] I went ahead and manually edited /etc/mpd.conf, after a reboot the entry in mpd.conf had reset itself from Digital to PCM. So it didn't help.[/edit]
jlynton
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 20 May 2016, 12:53

Re: Hardware volume control not working

Postby janui » 01 Oct 2018, 21:00

Hi jlynton,
Fist make a copy of the file /srv/http/db/redis_acards_details with the command:
Code: Select all
cp /srv/http/db/redis_acards_details /home/redis_acards_details
You can then copy it back if necessary. Then edit it with the command:
Code: Select all
nano /srv/http/db/redis_acards_details
Then look for the line containing
Code: Select all
//$redis->hSet('acards_details', 'snd_rpi_justboom_dac', '{"sysname":.....
Then remove the leading // on this line. It should then look like this:
Code: Select all
$redis->hSet('acards_details', 'snd_rpi_justboom_dac', '{"sysname":.....
Then exit nano with a <ctrl>o and then a <ctrl>x. Then execute the command:
Code: Select all
/srv/http/db/redis_acards_details
and reboot. Please report back with your results.
janui
User avatar
janui
 
Posts: 392
Joined: 20 Dec 2014, 12:55
Location: Ollanda

Re: Hardware volume control not working

Postby jlynton » 02 Oct 2018, 09:30

Good morning Janui,

I followed your excellent instructions, and it is now working perfectly!

Thank you so much for your help, I am so happy now I have my beloved RuneAudio back! And thank you also for all the great work that you do for this wonderful system.

Kind regards, Jeremy
jlynton
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 20 May 2016, 12:53

Re: Hardware volume control not working

Postby janui » 02 Oct 2018, 10:47

Hi jlynton,
Thanks for the testing and the feedback. I will include this change as soon as possible in the distribution code.
janui
User avatar
janui
 
Posts: 392
Joined: 20 Dec 2014, 12:55
Location: Ollanda

Re: Hardware volume control not working

Postby jlynton » 02 Oct 2018, 18:41

janui wrote:Hi jlynton,
Thanks for the testing and the feedback. I will include this change as soon as possible in the distribution code.
janui

Thank you Janui!
Now that I have 0.5b in a very usable state, I will be using it full time, and will let you know if I come across any more problems.
Jeremy
jlynton
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 20 May 2016, 12:53

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

Previous

Return to Raspberry Pi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests