Page 26 of 27

Re: RuneAudio+R e2 - An improved version of RuneAudio

PostPosted: 11 Jan 2020, 01:39
by MusicLover22
I just tested a 1 year old beta of runeaudio and i experience it working a lot better than this one, is there any particular reasons i should have a lot of trouble with this more modern version on a pi 3b with a hifiberry dac + pro?

the issues i experienced are as follows:

auto update not working
cover art is not being grabbed from the embedded mp3/flac files even when available.

version that is from 2018 that works good with my pi is: post29027.html#p29027

but i would prefer using this one as the gui changes are pretty nifty.

Re: RuneAudio+R e2 - An improved version of RuneAudio

PostPosted: 11 Jan 2020, 12:39
by AndyF
@holzboa
After pacman -Syu you have to disable some new security settings.
See here: https://www.runeaudio.com/forum/mpdupgrade-t5959-50.html#p28989
After that, MPD-settings should work as expected.

@MusicLover22
CoverArt is working fine on my system. Did you update to latest version?
Autoupdate works fine, too. There's a bug in MPD-settings which don't show current state of autoupdate-setting. Please do a
Code: Select all
cat /etc/mpd.conf
- auto_update should be "yes". With this setting, mpd does an autoscan of changed files.

regards, Andy

Re: RuneAudio+R e2 - An improved version of RuneAudio

PostPosted: 11 Jan 2020, 21:00
by MusicLover22
AndyF wrote:@holzboa
After pacman -Syu you have to disable some new security settings.
See here: https://www.runeaudio.com/forum/mpdupgrade-t5959-50.html#p28989
After that, MPD-settings should work as expected.

@MusicLover22
CoverArt is working fine on my system. Did you update to latest version?
Autoupdate works fine, too. There's a bug in MPD-settings which don't show current state of autoupdate-setting. Please do a
Code: Select all
cat /etc/mpd.conf
- auto_update should be "yes". With this setting, mpd does an autoscan of changed files.

regards, Andy


I did update to the latest version, but it appeared artwork (for those which worked) was being fetched ffrom the internet, i have a rather sorted music collection with mp3 tags and artwork all sorted, the old version grabs the embedded artwork rather then trying to fetch something from the internet which sometimes does not match and very often doesn't find anything at all resulting in a empty space.

I will have to look at the configuration file the next time i decide to upgrade, the version from 2018 works so good i'm sticking with it for now.

Re: RuneAudio+R e2 - An improved version of RuneAudio

PostPosted: 12 Jan 2020, 09:04
by AndyF
Hi MusicLover22,

it´s strange - on my system embedded coverart work for mp3 and flac without any problems. I´m using the ready-to-use image from first post in this thread and I´ve updated via addon-menu. My tracks have jpeg´s or png´s as coverart (set with mp3tag).

regards, Andy

Re: RuneAudio+R e2 - An improved version of RuneAudio

PostPosted: 12 Jan 2020, 11:56
by holzboa
AndyF wrote:@holzboa
After pacman -Syu you have to disable some new security settings.
See here: https://www.runeaudio.com/forum/mpdupgrade-t5959-50.html#p28989
After that, MPD-settings should work as expected.

@MusicLover22
CoverArt is working fine on my system. Did you update to latest version?
Autoupdate works fine, too. There's a bug in MPD-settings which don't show current state of autoupdate-setting. Please do a
Code: Select all
cat /etc/mpd.conf
- auto_update should be "yes". With this setting, mpd does an autoscan of changed files.

regards, Andy

Thank you, igot back the possibility to choose the audio interface and my problematic autofs/nfs share gets mountes accessible. The /etc/mpd.conf shows the Shanling M0 now but till yet i didn't get any output.
I tried the function of the Shanling DAP on Endeavours OS with
Code: Select all
$ mpv --audio-device= alsa/front:CARD=U0x20b10x301f,DEV=0
and 2 other setings and it plays well there.

Re: RuneAudio+R e2 - An improved version of RuneAudio

PostPosted: 15 Jan 2020, 16:28
by Snoop05
What is the current state of affairs and expectations for future of this project?
To me this still looks alot like a hackjob. While JeOS would be probably best option for this purpose, i can understand it would require quite alot work to get it at least to somewhat working state. If Arch / ALARM is being used as base, why dont take advantage of the package manager? Customized packages with their default configs should be distributed using pacman repository and managed by the pacman.
For even more cleaner way of doing things, NixOS could be used as base instead. That will probably reduce the maintenance burden as well as simplify making (reproducible) builds and not having to deal with rolling distro breakage.

Re: RuneAudio+R e2 - An improved version of RuneAudio

PostPosted: 15 Jan 2020, 16:59
by R101
At the moment, we have a 0.5b version which is reliable and can usually be installed without too much hassle, but does not allow much customisation - and rern's version, which has all the bells and whistles, is totally customisable, but does not work reliably for all users.

Possibly an OT question, but what will 0.6 look like? Will we get a final pre-release version which gets all the bugs fixed and does not suffer from mission-creep?

Re: RuneAudio+R e2 - An improved version of RuneAudio

PostPosted: 17 Jan 2020, 08:23
by Leobo71
I would like a Litte version like 0.5b with GPIO addon and the nice radio UV meter.

Re: RuneAudio+R e2 - An improved version of RuneAudio

PostPosted: 17 Jan 2020, 11:45
by R101
Leobo71 wrote:I would like a Litte version like 0.5b with GPIO addon and the nice radio UV meter.


That is the advantage of rern's approach. For me these features are just clutter, and I can remove them.

Re: RuneAudio+R e2 - An improved version of RuneAudio

PostPosted: 17 Jan 2020, 19:09
by Leobo71
I love 0.5b from "Janui". Somehow I managed the jamendo and dribble are confused by GUI. I have a Pi Zero with Oled display and Justboom DAC Zero. Sound is wonderful.
What surprises me with Rern version is only "bit perfect" with Janui you can set which bit rate should run.