Uploading tracks via ftp/sftp

Suggestions/requests/ideas for RuneAudio core features and functions

Uploading tracks via ftp/sftp

Postby davidemania » 14 Dec 2014, 17:33

Is it possible to upload (and manage) tracks to an USB mass memory device via FTP or SFTP? I tried but it seems the device (in my case a 16GB USB stick) is mounted in read only, and I couldn't modify anything on it.

It would be nice to be able to manage the music library without having to open the box and physically remove the stick from the board (a raspberry Pi) and connect it to a computer. I tried to unmount the USB drive from the UI but apparently nothing happens after trying that.

I am quite new to rune audio so may be I am just missing something obvious. Any hint?

thanks
Davide
Last edited by davidemania on 15 Dec 2014, 14:28, edited 1 time in total.
davidemania

Re: Uploading tracks via fts/sftp

Postby ACX » 14 Dec 2014, 18:22

A slightly dirty but effective way to achieve that in the current state of our implementation is to create a dir inside /mnt/MPD/USB and put your media files inside there via SFTP. After you update MPD's database, the folder will be listed clicking on the "USB storage" block in the Library home screen.
ACX
RuneAudio co-founder

Postby davidemania » 14 Dec 2014, 20:39

I'll try that, but where will the files go? On the USB stick? And what if I have more than one?

By the way, since there is lot of free space on the main SD card (mine actually is a 16GB one), is it possible to put it to a good use and load some music there?
davidemania

Postby ACX » 15 Dec 2014, 02:38

The solution I suggested you is meant for placing files on the SD, you only have to create the new dir in /mnt/MPD/USB to be able to browse it through the UI then (at least with the current implementation).
ACX
RuneAudio co-founder

Postby davidemania » 15 Dec 2014, 11:15