Listening Hardware

Everything about Hi-Fi equipment

Listening Hardware

Postby jkelly30 » 25 Feb 2014, 16:59

Hi,

I am new to the Rpi etc, and am planning to use my newly acquired Rpi + HifiBerry running RuneUI beta 0.3 (when released) to create a headless Hifi system. I have an old Bush Valve radio that I love the looks of (old valve radio), and my plan is to remove the internals, maintain the external look of the radio and to fit some high end speakers along with the RPi etc...
That being said I am undecided as to which speakers to use.. I have a set of Harman Kardon Soundsticks II which I love the sound of but will probably not be able to fit the Sub in my "radio" box.. the next option I am looking at is getting some Creative Labs Gigaworks T40 II's which seem to get a good write up on performance...

My questions really is what is everyone else using to listen to the magical sounds emanating from their RuneUI projects??

Thanks & Regards
jkelly30

Re: Listening Hardware

Postby ACX » 25 Feb 2014, 18:03

Hi jkelly30, I can tell you what I'm using in my home. I own two different setups:

1) Living room setup
RuneAudio player (BeagleBone Black) > M2Tech hiFace Two > ultramodded Zero DAC > Korsun KS99 integrated amplifier > Tannoy Sensys DC2 loudspeakers

2) Office setup
RuneAudio player (Raspberry Pi) > Schiit Modi USB DAC > DIY TA2024 based amplifier > Indiana Line HC 206 loudspeakers
ACX
RuneAudio co-founder

Postby ACX » 25 Feb 2014, 18:06

I forgot to say that I'm listening from I2S output in these days, using HifiBerry DAC and npejcic's DAC in my office setup, with good results with both boards.
ACX
RuneAudio co-founder

Postby tux » 27 Feb 2014, 17:06

My setup is the following:

Speakers: Monitor Audio Bronze B2
Speaker cable: Bandridge Superflex OFC 2x2.50
Aplifier: Ιndeed TA2021S with external pdu from the same manufacturer
Interconnect cable: Van Den Hool D-102 MKII
Dac and PDU: HifiMeDIY Sabre USB DAC2 + External PSU PSM3+ + cheap usb cable :P