Integrating into Brennan B2

Everything about Hi-Fi equipment

Integrating into Brennan B2

Postby jakeinjam » 16 Jan 2018, 15:53

I recently bought a Brennan B2 which is basically a Linux based Raspberry Pi connected to a hard drive and amplifier all in one box http://www.brennan.co.uk/

All in all I am very pleased with the system, and I know I could have done this myself loads cheaper, but I am not that way inclined.

However the interface connected through the B2's IP address leaves much to be desired. Basically I want to replace the entire system it comes with for the Rune which looks and behaves much more along the lines the B2 should have shipped with.

Currently I am downloading Rune and have the latest update software of the B2 which contains the html and java files to run it. I had intended to compare the files and replace those that are core, but I have questions I am hoping some of you may answer. I am very new to all this but am competent with html, php and understand basics of java.

My questions are:

Will it work?
If I buy a new SD card, load on Rune, put into B2 will it find all the music on the internal HD?
Does it support Bluetooth in and out? (Am sure this question is answered somewhere but can't find)
All the connections shown in the attached file - are they supported by Rune?
The B2 aparently has a Burr Brown (Texas Instruments) PCM2902C DAC - is this ok?

It also comes with Raspberry PI model B.

I am 100% sure that if I can get this to work, there are 1000s of B2 users who would like a better alternative!

I very much look forward to any help and advice.

Screen Shot 2018-01-16 at 14.43.43 copy.jpg
Screen Shot 2018-01-16 at 14.43.43 copy.jpg (94.54 KiB) Viewed 7429 times
jakeinjam

Re: Integrating into Brennan B2

Postby jakeinjam » 25 Jan 2018, 13:49

Hi

A little update from the B2 forum.

A guy with some unix knowledge tells me that if I replace the operating software then the screen and jog wheel of the B2 will stop working.