Help finding the right DAC

Raspberry Pi related support

Help finding the right DAC

Postby Stags6969 » 12 Nov 2020, 17:11

Hi
Complete newbie to trying to run a music player through a raspberry pi, so please bear with me.
I have a raspberry pi 3B rev1.2 and have just installed RuneAudio+R e6.
I’ve managed to connect up a share on my mediaserver pc and also added tracks on a local usb had.

I currently connect the pi to my Denon AV receiver through a headphone to phone Jack cable, but am considering purchasing a DAC to go between the pi and amp.

Can someone tell me the most reasonable priced DAC to do this please.
Would I be better with phono connections, or with optical / coaxial connection? Having typed that, I’m now confused? Aren’t the optical and coaxial a digital output? Why would I need a DAC to use these?

Please help.

BTW, uk based if that has any bearing on the recommended DAC.

Thanks
Paul
Stags6969

Re: Help finding the right DAC

Postby Ears of Tin » 12 Nov 2020, 18:59

If your looking for reasonably inexpensive, easy to setup and widely supported DACs I would suggest something from Hifiberry or Allo.

https://www.hifiberry.com/shop/#boards

https://www.allo.com/sparky/boss-dac.html

I2S boards like these attach on top of the Rasperry Pi without special tools or skills. Then connect to your audio system with standard RCA cable. Provides a compact setup but you may need to buy taller case.

Else you can buy a stand alone DAC which will take digital input via optical coax or USB. Will likely cost more but can be used in a non-Raspberry environment. The sky is the limit on prices but some popular DACs run ~100USD such as Shitt Modi. You might still need a board with digital output to connect to the stand alone DAC depending on its inputs.

If your Denon has digital input then you already have a DAC in the receiver. Then you would need a board that provides digital output to connect to the receiver or if so equipped try HDMI.
Ears of Tin