Alientek D8 with XMOS chip

Working DACs, USB dongles, ...

Alientek D8 with XMOS chip

Postby twinpeaks » 02 Feb 2017, 13:31

Hi,

I've got an Alientek D8 with XMOS USB chip because its features almost perfectly fit my needs.

alientek-d8.jpg
alientek-d8.jpg (187.25 KiB) Viewed 6956 times


It's working fine with a Raspberry Pi 3 via USB, except hardware volume control. In fact, the first time I switched RuneAudio to hardware volume, it worked, but it stopped working after (don't remember exactly) rebooting or changing some other settings back and forth.
I can adjust the hardware volume using alsamixer and amixer, but not anymore with RuneAudio, it just has no effect.

Well, I can live with that, but nonetheless it would be nice, if it would work. :D

Code: Select all
[root@runeaudio ~]# lsusb | grep XMOS
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 20b1:302e XMOS Ltd


Code: Select all
[root@runeaudio ~]# amixer --card 1
Simple mixer control 'ALIENTEK Clock Selector',0
  Capabilities: pvolume cvolume pswitch cswitch
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 127 Capture 0 - 127
  Front Left: Playback 115 [91%] [-12.00dB] [on] Capture 115 [91%] [-12.00dB] [on]
  Front Right: Playback 115 [91%] [-12.00dB] [on] Capture 115 [91%] [-12.00dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'ALIENTEK Clock Selector',1
  Capabilities: pvolume pvolume-joined cvolume cvolume-joined pswitch pswitch-joined cswitch cswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Capture channels: Mono
  Limits: Playback 0 - 127 Capture 0 - 127
  Mono: Playback 127 [100%] [0.00dB] [on] Capture 127 [100%] [0.00dB] [on]


twinpeaks
twinpeaks
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Nov 2016, 14:27
Location: Germany

Re: Alientek D8 with XMOS chip

Postby hondagx35 » 02 Feb 2017, 16:57

Hi twinpeaks,

this is because your DAC is not in our database.

You have to edit the file "/
Code: Select all
$redis->hSet('acards_details', 'XMOS USB Audio 2.0', '{"sysname":"XMOS USB Audio 2.0","extlabel":"XMOS AK4399 USB-Audio DAC","mixer_numid":"1","mixer_control":"ALIENTEK Clock Selector","type":"usb"}');

Adapt "XMOS USB Audio 2.0" and "XMOS AK4399 USB-Audio DAC" to your needs.
The correct name can be found by
Code: Select all
aplay -l


After doing that you have to rebuild the settings:
Code: Select all
redis-cli del acards
php /srv/http/db/redis_acards_details


Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 3042
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: Alientek D8 with XMOS chip

Postby twinpeaks » 02 Feb 2017, 18:47

Hi Frank,

thank you very much, this did work!
I edited the file "/srv/http/db/redis_acards_details" and added the line:
Code: Select all
$redis->hSet('acards_details', 'ALIENTEK FY1 USB Audio', '{"sysname":"ALIENTEK FY1 USB Audio","extlabel":"Alientek XMOS USB Audio","mixer_numid":"3","mixer_control":"ALIENTEK Clock Selector","type":"usb"}');


Now hardware volume control works, but the usable range on the volume knob is very small. For example, if I set the volume knob to 50, I just can't hear anything anymore and alsamixer reports -63 db and a volume of "8/100". I guess it has something to do with linear vs. logarithmic scale.
Ah OK, I was just searching the forum and this seems to be a known issue. Do you know if there is already a solution?

Oliver
twinpeaks
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 21 Nov 2016, 14:27
Location: Germany

Re: Alientek D8 with XMOS chip

Postby booga » 18 Apr 2017, 07:40

Hello,

I am also interested in a solution... ;)
(Is it still a problem?)

Thanks
booga
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 18 Apr 2017, 07:36

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal


Return to Compatibility list

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest