Advise to a newbie (again, I'm sure)

Everything about Hi-Fi equipment

Re: Advise to a newbie (again, I'm sure)

Postby Piriformis » 27 Jan 2017, 10:45

Hi again, Frank. What a beautiful page you refered me to. Have not heard about it ever. Well, done accordingly and below is the debug data:

http://pastebin.com/mnzDasfW

Happy trails ... :D

And thanks

//
_______________________________
Stefan Andersson
Hifi-enthusiast, photographer and biker
Sweden
User avatar
Piriformis
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Jan 2017, 19:38
Location: Vänersborg, Sweden

Re: Advise to a newbie (again, I'm sure)

Postby hondagx35 » 27 Jan 2017, 11:32

Hi Stefan,

now comes the tricky part (for a linux beginner).
You have to add this:
Code: Select all
$redis->hSet('acards_details', 'Bel Canto 2496 USB', '{"sysname":"Bel Canto 2496 USB","extlabel":"Bel Canto 2496","card_option":"format\t\"96000:24:2\"","mixer_numid":"1","hwplatformid":"08","type":"usb"}');

to the file "/srv/http/db/redis_acards_details".

- install a sftp client on your PC
- connect to your device
sftp.jpg
sftp.jpg (54.29 KiB) Viewed 3706 times

- modify "/srv/http/db/redis_acards_details" or copy the provided (unzipped) file over it.
sftp1.jpg
sftp1.jpg (226.11 KiB) Viewed 3706 times

- get access to the console (ssh)
- execute these commands:
Code: Select all
redis-cli del acards
php /srv/http/db/redis_acards_details

sftp2.png
sftp2.png (23.88 KiB) Viewed 3706 times

- reboot

Frank

- Get access to the console:
Use SSH from your PC
    If you are not familiar with SSH read this for Windows or this for Linux/MacOS
    The default login for RuneAudio is "root" with the password "rune" (without quotes).

- Use sftp to access files on Rune Audio:
Get WinSCP from here and install it.
When it opens setup the following:
- Session
File Protocol: SCP
Host name: The IP address of you Raspberry Pi
User name: root
Password: rune

That's it, connect and you can transfer files just by dragging and dropping.

OSX: Try Cyberduck
Attachments
redis_acards_details.zip
(2.12 KiB) Downloaded 529 times
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 3042
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: Advise to a newbie (again, I'm sure)

Postby Discovery » 27 Jan 2017, 20:54

Hi Stefan,

Tidal can be streamed to a Raspberry Pi by using BubbleUPnP on a phone or tablet, and using the RPi as the renderer. I enjoy my Tidal Hi-Fi subscription this way.

If you have a Network Attached Server (NAS), Tidal sounds even better if you run BubbleUPnP Server on the NAS and create an Open Home Renderer that is controlled by the same phone or tablet as the first solution. Please don't ask my why it sounds better - the configuration was recommended to me and I can only agree.

All the best,

Trevor
Discovery
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 06 May 2015, 08:22
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Re: Advise to a newbie (again, I'm sure)

Postby Piriformis » 07 Feb 2017, 09:25

Hi, Trevor. Thank you so much for the tip. Will look into this. But first:

Hi again, Frank

Sorry to bother you again. I've got som free time today to continue my experiment with RPi3 and RuneAudio. I have a problem, I'm not able to solve. The WinSCP is installed ok. So is the PuTTY, btw. But when accessing the RPi3 from the program, it will not allow me to enter. I've used the settings from your screen dump. Off course I have replaced the IP-address to my RPi3, but use same portnumber 22. Wrong? Further, I cannot find anywhere if I ever configured a user name or a password. I do not think so. Been trying without and with your "root", so far no success. I have been locking into the advanced options in WinSCP, but this is nothing I'm familier to, so I do not dare to change anything there.

Would you consider to give a push in the right direction?

Thanks in advance.
_______________________________
Stefan Andersson
Hifi-enthusiast, photographer and biker
Sweden
User avatar
Piriformis
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Jan 2017, 19:38
Location: Vänersborg, Sweden

Re: Advise to a newbie (again, I'm sure)

Postby Piriformis » 07 Feb 2017, 09:47

Frank, I'm embarassed. Forget my inquiry above. It the same as if everything else fails, read the manual ... :oops:
_______________________________
Stefan Andersson
Hifi-enthusiast, photographer and biker
Sweden
User avatar
Piriformis
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Jan 2017, 19:38
Location: Vänersborg, Sweden

Re: Advise to a newbie (again, I'm sure)

Postby Piriformis » 07 Feb 2017, 10:22

Frank, you're the Man. Works like a charm and resamples. Better sound. Now even softer but still high treble with fine grains. Its is lovely to listen to Metal from this device, not to mention jazz with piano and strings and right now I feel it superseeds the pc with JRiver I used to play from.

You did it! :D

//
_______________________________
Stefan Andersson
Hifi-enthusiast, photographer and biker
Sweden
User avatar
Piriformis
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Jan 2017, 19:38
Location: Vänersborg, Sweden

Re: Advise to a newbie (again, I'm sure)

Postby Piriformis » 07 Feb 2017, 15:47

I have the other question about Spotify. The tip and trick you (Frank) suggested, thanks for those, did however not start the playback, I'n afraid.

Now the player becomes what I percieve to be instable. Every wheel possible revolves showing something's going on, but there's no audio out. That is changed from before up-sample re-programming. Before, the player could play and the clock was ticking, but without sound. Now the stability is affected.

Is there anything I can do to fix this?
_______________________________
Stefan Andersson
Hifi-enthusiast, photographer and biker
Sweden
User avatar
Piriformis
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Jan 2017, 19:38
Location: Vänersborg, Sweden

Re: Advise to a newbie (again, I'm sure)

Postby hondagx35 » 07 Feb 2017, 22:09

Hi Stefan,

sorry, but I have no idea what your exact problem / question is.

- MPD works?
- Spotify doesn't work?
- unstable in Spotify mode?
- can you switch back to Spotify?

Please try to switch the output from DAC to analog while playing spotify and switch back to DAC.

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 3042
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: Advise to a newbie (again, I'm sure)

Postby Piriformis » 20 Feb 2017, 18:39

Hi, Frank

It doesn't work to switch output device on the fly, either. But since I have recognized the unwillingness from TiDAL to join forces with e.g. JRiver and a lot of other issues from the two large streaming services, I back down and will keep the computer as well. Not ideal, but anyhow. Now I can at least enjoy my large album collection through this wonderful device and your software, running very well from my Android-Pad thanks to your app.

The 24-96 sampling runs as expected and now there are additional tweaks left to try besides your software. I must find a good transformer power supply instead of the switched I bought to get up and running. Then I want to try some other stuff. Will continue to read in the other sections here, to find good tips & tricks.

Thank you /Stefan :geek:
_______________________________
Stefan Andersson
Hifi-enthusiast, photographer and biker
Sweden
User avatar
Piriformis
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Jan 2017, 19:38
Location: Vänersborg, Sweden

Re: Advise to a newbie (again, I'm sure)

Postby RonyBelt » 11 Jul 2017, 20:34

JohnC wrote:Stefan,

A few words on Spotify:
1) Your need a premium account;
2) input your user name (not email address); and
3) create playlist outside of RuneAudio first, you will then see the playlist inside.

John


Thanks, JohnC I'm attempting to create a topic for this question.
RonyBelt
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 Jul 2017, 19:51

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

Previous

Return to Hi-Fi systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests