Set Up for HiFiBerry DAC + Pro XLR

Raspberry Pi related support

Set Up for HiFiBerry DAC + Pro XLR

Postby foxint » 07 Dec 2018, 07:39

Hi guys…

Season’s greetings.

I just got the HiFiBerry DAC + Pro XLR for my birthday. I was using the HiFiBerry Digi + and that was excellent. I have Pi3

Is there a step-by-step guide for the new DAC+ Pro XLR?? I could not find one and the only thread I found, the screen shots are different from what I have.

If there is a new version of rune, I do not know as there is no update button. I have not touched the base lynx since I first got it many years ago.

Can I say from the start I am a real novice when it comes to lynx and it is really hard? So if there are any guys willing to lend a hand, I would be most grateful. Then I will leave you alone until the next crisis…

Thank you.
foxint

Re: Set Up for HiFiBerry DAC + Pro XLR

Postby janui » 07 Dec 2018, 08:59

Hi foxint,
foxint wrote:I just got the HiFiBerry DAC + Pro XLR for my birthday. I was using the HiFiBerry Digi + and that was excellent….Is there a step-by-step guide…
It depends on which version of Rune you are using.
In pre-V0.4 you need to edit a file called /config.txt. If you plug your SD Card into your PC you get access to this file. This line needs to be commented out by adding a # as the first position, like this:
Code: Select all
#dtoverlay=hifiberry-digi
And this line needs to be uncommented by removing the # in the first position, like this:
Code: Select all
dtoverlay=hifiberry-dacplus

With Rune V0.4 and later there is a menu option in the Settings UI which selects the output device (I2S kernel modules). Just change the device and reboot. In V0.5 your new DAC is listed, in V0.4 you need to choose the 'HiFiBerry DAC +'. After a reboot you need to select the output card in the MPD UI.
You can download V0.4 here: runeaudio-0-4-beta-for-raspberry-pi2-3-t4434.html#p19960
You can download V0.5 here: runeaudio-0-5-beta-for-all-raspberry-pi-models-t6532.html#p25819