RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Raspberry Pi related support

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby bnilsson » 07 Apr 2019, 09:06

Dear developers,

I tried the "nominal" download for RP3B, RuneAudio_rpi2_rp3_0.4-beta_20160321_2GB.img that is on the main Download page, in order to check if I could gitpull to the latest version.

It does not even boot on my RP3B+!

I tried on a RP2, and it was fine.

Is it not time to update the image on the main Download page (http://www.runeaudio.com/download/) to something more recent?

Why would a newbie interested in the RuneAudio have to go into the Forum to get a working image?

There is definitely a risk that he/she downloads the 20160321 image, finds that it does not work, then thinks "nice try, but.." and abandon the whole idea. Such a waste for a so superior project! So far I have found nothing better, I want this to spread to as many users as possible.

BN
bnilsson
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 06 Jun 2016, 11:22

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby dynobot » 12 Apr 2019, 01:39

bnilsson wrote:Dear developers,

I tried the "nominal" download for RP3B, RuneAudio_rpi2_rp3_0.4-beta_20160321_2GB.img that is on the main Download page, in order to check if I could gitpull to the latest version.

It does not even boot on my RP3B+!

I tried on a RP2, and it was fine.

Is it not time to update the image on the main Download page (http://www.runeaudio.com/download/) to something more recent?

Why would a newbie interested in the RuneAudio have to go into the Forum to get a working image?

There is definitely a risk that he/she downloads the 20160321 image, finds that it does not work, then thinks "nice try, but.." and abandon the whole idea. Such a waste for a so superior project! So far I have found nothing better, I want this to spread to as many users as possible.

BN



Good point.

Kind of a waste to have a storefront with old and moldy bread while the owner cooks bread in the back and offers it to those who know to go to the back of the store in the alley for service.

As far as any passers-by are concerned the store is and has been closed for the past 3 years.
User avatar
dynobot
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 19 May 2014, 15:04
Location: GA-USA

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby eze » 13 Apr 2019, 14:24

Hello, First Time poster here. Rune Audio 0.5b janui-20180903-10. Hardware = Pi A+, Dial Dac. Donation being made today.

Big Compliments on the software, sounds great, like the minimalist Gui approach. Agree with the purist philosophy of no upsampling software option, equalizer, etc. However, I have found this week worthwhile benefits from padding the bit word length to 24 or 32 bits. First, this allows me to use the HiFiBerry Dac,384 i2s module with 16 bit source material. Secondly, I found padding to 32 bits greatly improves the sound of the Rpi Dac i2s module with my equipment. I always liked the musicality of that driver but it suffered from exaggerated shh shh sounds --symbols, etc. 32 bit has brought that under control. Actually, imo, 32 bit sounds great with Rpi and 24 bit sounds great with HiFiBerry. I made the adjustments to the module code here:
nano /srv/http/db/redis_acards_details. It is permanent and does not interfere with MPD GUI functionality.

I am now trying to tweak the Dac list that populates the drop down box in the GUI "settings" page. Its a big list and I would like to reduce it to just the options that use The Rpi and HiFiBerry, 384 overlays. I am not a coder but can hack around a bit. I have tried manipulating the following files but with no luck : "nano /srv/http/app/config/defaults/i2s_table.txt" and "nano /srv/http/app/templates/settings.php". Is it possible to customize this list ? Any guidance would be appreciated.

Lastly, could someone provide a simplified explanation of any software differences there may be between different selections of the same overlay ? For example, is there a difference between selecting say X-10 dac board Rpi Dac and Generic AK4399 #1 Rpi Dac ? I can swear i hear differences between some of these. Am I insane ? would be nice to know. Additionally, if there are differences between some but no differences between others it would be helpfull to know. Save alot of time and mental anguish trying to tell which of two drivers sound better when in fact they are exactly the same.

Again, great software. Thank you.
eze
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 13 Apr 2019, 13:33

RuneAudio 0.5-beta Remount share delay

Postby ARFrater » 14 Apr 2019, 00:27

Hi
I have a working 0.5 Runeaudio (even managed to get mpd-webthing https://github.com/mrstegeman/mpd-webthing working) but I would like to add a script to remount then re-scan my NAS share 10 mins after boot this allows the NAS to startup from wake command automatically.
Any help appreciated thanks
:)
User avatar
ARFrater
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Apr 2017, 01:18
Location: Springfield Lakes Queensland Australia

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby dynobot » 14 Apr 2019, 15:37

ARFrater wrote:Hi
I have a working 0.5 Runeaudio (even managed to get mpd-webthing https://github.com/mrstegeman/mpd-webthing working) but I would like to add a script to remount then re-scan my NAS share 10 mins after boot this allows the NAS to startup from wake command automatically.
Any help appreciated thanks
:)


couple of options you can investigate

using the sleep command in fstab

-or-

creating a dummy service that does 'anything' and telling fstab to mount 'after' that process/service is done.
User avatar
dynobot
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 19 May 2014, 15:04
Location: GA-USA

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby janui » 14 Apr 2019, 17:47

Hi dynobot,
dynobot wrote:...a script to remount then re-scan my NAS share 10 mins after boot this allows the NAS to startup...
It will already do this automatically after 15 minutes, no need to change anything. If you want to change the 15 minutes to 10 then you can edit /srv/http/command/rune_SY_wrk with:
Code: Select all
nano /srv/http/command/rune_SY_wrk
Look for the line:
Code: Select all
$savecpu_mnt = 1750 + rand(0, 100);
And change it to this:
Code: Select all
$savecpu_mnt = 1150 + rand(0, 100);
Note: 1750 plus a random number between 0 and 100 is approximately 1800, this is the delay time in half seconds (= 15 minutes). 10 minutes is 1200 (- 50 = 1150). To set another delay value, say to 7 minutes use: 7 x 60 x 2 = 840, then subtract 50 for the random number (= 790).
janui
User avatar
janui
 
Posts: 564
Joined: 20 Dec 2014, 12:55
Location: Ollanda

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby janui » 14 Apr 2019, 18:14

Hi eze,
eze wrote:...I am now trying to tweak the Dac list that populates the drop down box in the GUI "settings" page. Its a big list and I would like to reduce it to just the options that use The Rpi and HiFiBerry, 384 overlays. I am not a coder but can hack around a bit. I have tried manipulating the following files but with no luck : "nano /srv/http/app/config/defaults/i2s_table.txt" and "nano /srv/http/app/templates/settings.php". Is it possible to customize this list ? Any guidance would be appreciated...
I would personally not bother with this, you only need to use it once. It now lists most of the available soundcards so that users do not need to know anything about chipsets or overlay options. But if you really need to change it, you can modify /srv/http/app/templates/settings.php (no need to change /srv/http/app/config/defaults/i2s_table.txt) with:
Code: Select all
nano /srv/http/app/templates/settings.php
You can delete complete lines after the one containing
Code: Select all
<option value="none|I&#178;S disabled (default)"...
Up to and including the one containing:
Code: Select all
<option value="hifiberry-dacplus|X400 V3.0 DAC+AMP Expansion Board"...

eze wrote:...Lastly, could someone provide a simplified explanation of any software differences there may be between different selections of the same overlay ?...
After you select an audio card with 'I²S kernel modules' in the Settings UI, the overlay which is used is displayed fully in the next line. The same overlay is often used for many audio cards, we have tried to provide the best choice per card. When the same overlay is chosen by choosing the a different audio card for the same physical audio card, the software processing is identical. You may also find that other overlays will work with your audio card, these do sometimes sound different, but there will often be limitations. For example: the hardware volume control will not work or the card will be limited to a sample rate of 192k.
janui
User avatar
janui
 
Posts: 564
Joined: 20 Dec 2014, 12:55
Location: Ollanda

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby eze » 14 Apr 2019, 19:35

Janui

Thanks for the answers.

"After you select an audio card with 'I²S kernel modules' in the Settings UI, the overlay which is used is displayed fully in the next line. The same overlay is often used for many audio cards, we have tried to provide the best choice per card. When the same overlay is chosen by choosing the a different audio card for the same physical audio card, the software processing is identical. "

That is what i thought initially but wondered why so many different versions listed, so switched around a bit. thought i noticed some differences but not scientific, different music etc. mind games. makes editing the dac list irrelevant. maybe list which Dacs work with which overlays elsewhere, website maybe, and reduce that list down to the actual overlays. just a thought.

Thanks again
eze
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 13 Apr 2019, 13:33

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby ARFrater » 15 Apr 2019, 10:05

Thanks Janui didn't know runeaudio could do this LOL
User avatar
ARFrater
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Apr 2017, 01:18
Location: Springfield Lakes Queensland Australia

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby mattra » 18 Apr 2019, 07:58

HI, (Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Rev 1.2, Runeaudio Ver. 0.5 build janui-20180903)

since recently I cannot connect to the name of my player any more (runeaudioboven) (boven means upstairs, I have one downstairs too ;). It used to work perfectly, and I have no idea what changed. The only thing I tried changing was the timezone (which was way off for some reason).

I use the webui or cantata as a client. Both can access the raspberry via the ip-address, but not via the name. Only the runeaudioboven has this problem, my runeaudiobeneden (downstairs) is still working normally.

Anybody any ideas about how to debug this?

(I use a usb stick with 200GB of music that I switch between the two machines. Don't know if that has anything to do with it, but I wouldn't see why.)

Best regards,
Mattra
mattra
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 22 Apr 2016, 13:32

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

PreviousNext

Return to Raspberry Pi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cmh714 and 1 guest