RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Raspberry Pi related support

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby Colin » 21 Jan 2019, 20:15

robd wrote:Hi all,
Finally ... a Pi project that works right out of the box like a charm
With a really intuitive ui
Fully functional
Easy to configure
A consistent layout over ui, dev-ui, website and forum
Thank you very much and I’m going to donate.

But I still have a bit of a challenge:
My pi is in network A and my Nas is in network B and the two are connected via internet.
Connecting via NFS means opening ports, one doesn’t want to open.
So, is there an opportunity to change the nfs ports on the pi side or any other suggestion solving this problem?
Or should I go for DLNA?


I guess, if you're OK with command-line and sshfs is installed on the RuneAudio distribution (which I'm unsure of), you could go with that manually.
Colin
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 14 Dec 2018, 11:51

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby robd » 21 Jan 2019, 21:58

I guess, if you're OK with command-line and sshfs is installed on the RuneAudio distribution (which I'm unsure of), you could go with that manually.

Hhmm... interesting idea to mount the remote filesystem over summer sh. I can try.
Last edited by robd on 22 Jan 2019, 23:16, edited 1 time in total.
robd
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 22 Oct 2018, 21:13

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby janui » 22 Jan 2019, 11:16

Hi robd & Colin,
robd wrote:My pi is in network A and my Nas is in network B and the two are connected via internet.
Connecting via NFS means opening ports, one doesn’t want to open.
So, is there an opportunity to change the nfs ports on the pi side or any other suggestion solving this problem?
Or should I go for DLNA?
NFS works like this: the client calls rpcbind on the server on port 111. The server returns the port number which NFS can use to mount the share. I suspect that you cannot (or don’t want to) open port 111 between your two network segments. You should read a little about this, opening port 111 is not normally something which you want to do. However when the port id is specified in the NFS mount command, NFS then misses out the rpcbind step and attempts to mount directly using the port provided. Look here more info: https://linux.die.net/man/5/nfs
In the RuneAudio Sources UI you add custom mount flags. Set advanced options ON to see the extra options. In this case (for NFS) you should use:
Code: Select all
ro,nocto,port=xxx
Where xxx is the port you wish to use.
This is also an interesting document which you should read: https://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/NFS-HOWTO/security.html
Colin wrote:…sshfs is installed on the RuneAudio distribution (which I'm unsure of)…
I can confirm that sshfs is installed.
If you want to use sshfs you will need to mount it manually, here is the documentation: https://linux.die.net/man/1/sshfs
You should use a mount point like this:
Code: Select all
/mnt/MPD/NAS/<name>
And you need to create an empty directory before mounting:
Code: Select all
mkdir /mnt/MPD/NAS/<name>
Don’t forget to remove the empty directory after an unmount.
janui
User avatar
janui
 
Posts: 566
Joined: 20 Dec 2014, 12:55
Location: Ollanda

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby janui » 22 Jan 2019, 14:34

Hi evilcurt,
evilcurt wrote:Hello everyone, I'm a new be to this, but I was able to get everything up and running just fine after a few trial by errors.
What I would like to do is to make the album art larger and the time and volume smaller and moving them up on the HMI. Is this possible and if so is there any instructions on how to?...I really don't know anything about programming...
What you are asking to do is quite complicated if you have no programming skills. But there are two alternatives which you could try. For both you need to be running the latest patch version of 0.5b , see the first post in this thread for instructions about updating the player. Then...
    1. Try switching on the local screen saver in the Settings UI. A setting of 5 works well, -1 switches it off. Just touching the screen will revert to the standard screen after it has activated. The screensaver format is not really what you were asking for, but has some of the elements.
    2. More complicated, but also more flexible is installing 'RuneUI Enhancement'. This can be done by installing ‘Rern’s addons’ from the /dev UI (type in http://runeaudio.local/dev), after switching Dev Mode ON and refreshing the screen. Switch Dev Mode OFF after it is installed. You can install the 'RuneUI Enhancement' from the addons menu. This UI is much more customisable than the standard one, but has different navigation and you will need to get familiar with it. Before you start check this out: runeui-enhancement-t4207.html#p18426 This gives a closer fit to what you were asking for.
janui
User avatar
janui
 
Posts: 566
Joined: 20 Dec 2014, 12:55
Location: Ollanda

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby robd » 22 Jan 2019, 23:34

Colin wrote:
…sshfs is installed on the RuneAudio distribution (which I'm unsure of)…
I can confirm that sshfs is installed.
If you want to use sshfs you will need to mount it manually, here is the documentation: https://linux.die.net/man/1/sshfs
You should use a mount point like this:

Yes. Sshfs is installed.
Mounting is no problem.
Code: Select all
sshfs user@server:remotedir /mnt/MPD/LocalSource/mntpnt/

So far so good. If you generate a rsa keypair you don’t need to give a password.
Rune sees the mount point, the tile Local Sources = 1
But
Rune does not see any files nor folders that are mounted whatsoever I tried.

So I think I will try to change port 111 tomorrow.
robd
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 22 Oct 2018, 21:13

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby janui » 23 Jan 2019, 13:05

Hi robd,
robd wrote:...But...Rune does not see any files nor folders that are mounted whatsoever I tried...
Try this as your mount command:
Code: Select all
mount -t sshfs -o noatime,uid=1000,gid=92,ro,noexec user@server:remotedir /mnt/MPD/LocalSource
The uid and gid map to the user mpd, to see the values use the command:
Code: Select all
id mpd
The playback program MPD runs under this user-id and it needs to be able to see the files on the NAS. After your NAS is mounted go to the Sources UI and click on UPDATE MPD LIBRARY. If this works you could consider enabling Auto update in the MPD UI.
janui
User avatar
janui
 
Posts: 566
Joined: 20 Dec 2014, 12:55
Location: Ollanda

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby robd » 23 Jan 2019, 21:40

Hi Janui,

thanks for the interesting articles. NFS seems to be a security hazard if not configured properly.
and also the below mount is a hazard if I read the articles correctly, because root is mounting the filesystem.
but it is nice to test and play around a little.

Try this as your mount command:

Code: Select all
mount -t sshfs -o noatime,uid=1000,gid=92,ro,noexec user@server:remotedir /mnt/MPD/LocalSource


I have to disappoint you. the a.m. mount does not change things. the mounting process works.
all files nd folders are owned by MPD group Audio but now the tile LocalSource is not present in the UI like it is empty.
If I look on the CLI there are 4 folders in LocalSource and numerous subfolders and files.

somewhere in the coming days I am going to use your other suggestion and configure nfs to circumvent port 111 and the portmapper.
robd
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 22 Oct 2018, 21:13

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby janui » 23 Jan 2019, 22:31

Hi robd,
robd wrote:but now the tile LocalSource is not present in the UI like it is empty.
Sorry, I made a mistake in the mount point, try this:
Code: Select all
mount -t sshfs -o noatime,uid=1000,gid=92,ro,noexec user@server:remotedir /mnt/MPD/NAS/LocalSource
janui
User avatar
janui
 
Posts: 566
Joined: 20 Dec 2014, 12:55
Location: Ollanda

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby evilcurt » 24 Jan 2019, 00:26

janui wrote:Hi evilcurt,
evilcurt wrote:Hello everyone, I'm a new be to this, but I was able to get everything up and running just fine after a few trial by errors.
What I would like to do is to make the album art larger and the time and volume smaller and moving them up on the HMI. Is this possible and if so is there any instructions on how to?...I really don't know anything about programming...
What you are asking to do is quite complicated if you have no programming skills. But there are two alternatives which you could try. For both you need to be running the latest patch version of 0.5b , see the first post in this thread for instructions about updating the player. Then...
    1. Try switching on the local screen saver in the Settings UI. A setting of 5 works well, -1 switches it off. Just touching the screen will revert to the standard screen after it has activated. The screensaver format is not really what you were asking for, but has some of the elements.
    2. More complicated, but also more flexible is installing 'RuneUI Enhancement'. This can be done by installing ‘Rern’s addons’ from the /dev UI (type in http://runeaudio.local/dev), after switching Dev Mode ON and refreshing the screen. Switch Dev Mode OFF after it is installed. You can install the 'RuneUI Enhancement' from the addons menu. This UI is much more customisable than the standard one, but has different navigation and you will need to get familiar with it. Before you start check this out: runeui-enhancement-t4207.html#p18426 This gives a closer fit to what you were asking for.
janui

Hi janui
Thanks for the input, I have tried the RuneUI Enhancement and it appears that it handles the album art entirely different because none of them were displayed. Plus it seemed to make the whole system unstable. Once I uninstalled the addon the whole OS crashed and would not boot.
So I wiped the sd card and started from scratch again.
I just tried the screen saver and that is okay but it is not what I'm looking for.
I am willing to figure out how to do this, even if that means learning some programming.
I am using a ssd drive to play the music from, and it appears that the queue gets lost or disappears and I notice that the volume bounces around when first booted but then stays put after a few minutes.
I do have a friend who know programming language I just need to know where to start and what to use.

Thanks again.
Curt
evilcurt
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Jan 2019, 22:24

Re: RuneAudio 0.5-beta for most Raspberry Pi models

Postby janui » 24 Jan 2019, 13:42

Hi evilcurt,
evilcurt wrote:I am using a ssd drive to play the music from, and it appears that the queue gets lost or disappears
The queue should always be retained even between reboots. But maybe I misunderstand you, could you explain this a little better?
evilcurt wrote:I notice that the volume bounces around when first booted but then stays put after a few minutes
This is the automatic volume adjustment. You can switch it OFF in the MPD UI, change Start volume to -1. If the volume seems very low look at this post for a solution: runeaudio-0-5-beta-for-all-raspberry-pi-models-t6532-310.html#p26802

As to modifying the UI, I can only help you to get started. The UI is built in primarily JavaScript and CSS, JavaScript for functionality and CSS for the way it looks. So I assume (this is an assumption because I have never tried this) that moving the UI objects and changing their size can be done by modifying the CSS files. The source CSS files are contained in this directory and its subdirectories: /srv/http/assets/less These are compiled with something called Grunt, which creates the file: /srv/http/assets/css/runeui.css. It is possible to modify /srv/http/assets/css/runeui.css directly, but this file contains no documentation. The documentation can be found in the source files. I hope this is enough for your programming friend to get started. I am afraid I will not be able to provide any further support on this one, the UI is not my speciality and I have other priorities at the moment.

janui
User avatar
janui
 
Posts: 566
Joined: 20 Dec 2014, 12:55
Location: Ollanda

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

PreviousNext

Return to Raspberry Pi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cmh714 and 9 guests