RuneAudio 0.4-beta for Raspberry Pi2/3

Raspberry Pi related support

Re: RuneAudio 0.4-beta for Raspberry Pi2/3

Postby andfor » 05 Sep 2017, 15:43

Hello,

So for now I think i solved the high CPU problem.... Here's how:

The command that was causing the problem was 'midori -p -e Fullscreen html://localhost'. According to top this was process number 728.

The file /proc/728/cmdline contained this command so I just commented it out and rebooted.

Now I have no problems with radio streams any more and my system is running with much less CPU and memory usage.

I have to say that I am just a novice at all this stuff and that this was the result of just exploring root directory folders and the top output. As such I have no idea why this has worked! If you can explain that would be great.

Also if there's any chance I've broken anything else by altering this file please let me know.
User avatar
andfor
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 26 Jun 2017, 15:48
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: RuneAudio 0.4-beta for Raspberry Pi2/3

Postby Stephane » 05 Sep 2017, 16:10

Hi,

Basically you did nothing as the /proc entries are dynamically added as the system runs.
Rebooting the system was more helpfull.
Stephane
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 06 Feb 2017, 10:35

Re: RuneAudio 0.4-beta for Raspberry Pi2/3

Postby hondagx35 » 05 Sep 2017, 17:08

Hi andfor,

so you have no display connected right?

If so, it would be best to turn off the "Local browser" option on the settings page.
This option is enabled by default for easy setup and for all with a 7" TFT touch display as described in the first post.

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 2722
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: RuneAudio 0.4-beta for Raspberry Pi2/3

Postby andfor » 05 Sep 2017, 18:09

Hi

Stephane wrote:Hi,

Basically you did nothing as the /proc entries are dynamically added as the system runs.
Rebooting the system was more helpfull.


Ah... ok. As I said, new to all this. But you only learn by trying stuff out and asking dumb questions don't you? Thanks for clearing that up. The problem was surviving reboots though, hence my concern...

Hi andfor,

so you have no display connected right?

If so, it would be best to turn off the "Local browser" option on the settings page.
This option is enabled by default for easy setup and for all with a 7" TFT touch display as described in the first post.

Frank


No display connected. Yes, I had tried turning this off, vaguely thinking that midori was something to do with browser something...something... I only hit 'Apply Settings' thinking this would be enough, but it obviously required a reboot. Seems that this was the real reason behind my 'solution'.

I turned Local Browser on and off a couple of times to confirm and it is what was causing the high CPU.

Still doesn't answer why this caused a problem for me. It would be interesting to know. Does it indicate that I have a problem lurking somewhere? Maybe a fresh install would be best.

Thanks for your help
User avatar
andfor
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 26 Jun 2017, 15:48
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: RuneAudio 0.4-beta for Raspberry Pi2/3

Postby hkknudsen » 13 Sep 2017, 06:30

jesper wrote:So, I don't get AirPlay to work in 0.4b using I2S set to Boss DAC. It shows RuneAudio in the network on all other units (computers and iOS devices) in the network, but refuse to connect to it. I did restart after changing I2S setting.
Others experienced the same?
Any workaround?


Did you get this to work Jesper?

It works for me with 0.4 beta, I did'nt really do anything to make it work. Streaming happily from apple tv 4 to pi 3B/Boss via airplay, audio/video was even very close to synced (I did'nt expect that) and definetly usable for movies. However it would work rock stable for 5 minutes or something, then while pausing or forwarding a movie apple tv would loose the airplay connection and fall back to audio over hdmi (without stating that it did). I would have to go all the way back to settings and select airplay as output device again.

Yesterday I tried Volumio, call me crazy but it seemed to me the audio from Rune was a lot better. I also had several small problems and errors with Volumio. So - hoping there is a fix to this airplay problem with Rune.. ;)
hkknudsen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 31 Aug 2017, 16:38

Sorting issue

Postby cmh714 » 21 Sep 2017, 16:44

I just installed a couple of Add-Ons. It fixed one sorting issue I had which was really minor and seems to have exposed another sorting issue....Now when I go into an Album/C/Whatever, the songs are sorted by Name alphabetically and not by Song Order....anyway to get that back?

And, this could have nothing to do with the Add-Ons....since I often use the gitpull from the /dev page.

TIA

EDIT: Alright sorting seems to be a general issue for MPD from my reading. The Playlist/Queue seems to honor the Track Number tag OR the Filename (not sure which yet...). However, the Library folders seem to go by the Track Name tag.

So I would like to get the Library folders to do the same as the Playlist/Queue....any ideas? Thx
cmh714
 
Posts: 280
Joined: 04 May 2014, 03:06

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

Previous

Return to Raspberry Pi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fboe and 3 guests