RUNE Audio and Brutefir (Convolver for Roomcorrection)

Build/modify/repair equipment and improve systems performance by yourself

RUNE Audio and Brutefir (Convolver for Roomcorrection)

Postby Da Alchemist » 22 Apr 2015, 15:18

Rune Audio and Brutefir on QuadCore Pi (Pi2)

First Thanks to hondagx35 for his great work and support. I never would have done it with his support, because i am a completly Noob to Arch Linux.
What it is all about?

Brutefir http://www.ludd.luth.se/~torger/brutefir.html is a Convolver and can be used for RoomCorrection and active Xover (with Multichannel soundcards). The single Core Pi was far to weak to run a Convolution and a Streamer but the Quadcore version is doing it without any hazzle.
Impulse Files for the Convolution can be build with Rephase, Porc, DRC or even RoomEQWizard (after Exporting the EQ-Filters Impulse Response and converting them with SOX from WAV to PCM).Of Course there are commercial Solutions like Acourate.

So apart from the PI2 and hondagx35`s Image we need to install a Version of MPD thats supports Pipeout and we need to install Brutefir.

Hondagx35 build these to Packages so it is easy to do; ssh into yor Pi and get them here : the-new-4-core-raspberry-pi-t862-150.html#p5733

after that: pacman -U mpd-rune-0.19.6-1-pipe-output-armv7h.pkg.tar.xz

The same for Brutefir and
pacman -U brutefir-1.0m-1-armv7h.pkg.tar.xz

Open sudo nano /etc/modules-load.d/raspberrypi.conf and uncomment the line snd-bcm2835 with "#"

Now we have to tell mpd to feed Brutefir so we have to edit the mpd.conf. For security Reasons we will first make a Backup of the original File in rune´s home

sudo nano /etc/mpd.conf

and disable all lines, section beginning with "audio_output" (#)

and add these lines

audio_output {
type "pipe"
name "brutefir pipe"
command "brutefir -nodefault /home/.brutefir_config 2>/dev/null"
#command "aplay -f cd 2>/dev/null"
format "44100:32:2"
}