RUNE Audio and Brutefir (Convolver for Roomcorrection)

Build/modify/repair equipment and improve systems performance by yourself

Re: RUNE Audio and Brutefir (Convolver for Roomcorrection)

Postby AlleyCat » 28 Feb 2016, 01:57

Got it. After lots of trial and errors I have a working configuration; however, with default filters. Setting up correction filters is coming next.

/etc/mpd.conf
audio_output {
type "pipe"
name "brutefir pipe"
command "/usr/bin/brutefir -nodefault /home/.brutefir.config" # 2>/dev/null"
mixer_type "software"
#command "aplay -f cd 2>/dev/null"
format "44100:32:2"
}

NOTES:
1) Add mixer_type "software"
2) Add # before the pipe to /dev/null
3) The brute fit config file is located at /home/.brutefir.config

brute fir.config file

#float_bits: 32; # internal floating point precision
float_bits: 64;
sampling_rate: 48000; # sampling rate in Hz of audio interfaces
#sampling_rate: 44100;
filter_length: 4096,16; # length of filters
overflow_warnings: true; # echo warnings to stderr if overflow occurs
#overflow_warnings: false;
show_progress: true; # echo filtering progress to stderr
#show_progress: false;
max_dither_table_size: 0; # maximum size in bytes of precalculated dither
#allow_poll_mode: true;
allow_poll_mode: false; # allow use of input poll mode
modules_path: "."; # extra path where to find BruteFIR modules
monitor_rate: false; # monitor sample rate
convolver_config: "home/.brutefir.config"; # location of convolver config file

logic: "cli" { port: 3000; };
## COEFFS ##

coeff "left" {
#filename: "/home/filter/filterl1.pcm"; #filterl
filename: "dirac pulse";
format: "FLOAT_LE";
attenuation: 0.0;
};

coeff "right" {
# filename:"/home/filter/filterr1.pcm"; #filterr
filename: "dirac pulse";
format: "FLOAT_LE";
attenuation: 0.0;
};


## INPUT OUTPUT ##

input "left-in", "right-in" {
device: "file" {path: "/dev/stdin";};
#device: "file" {path: "/home/volumio/1.pcm";};
sample: "S32_LE";
channels: 2/0,1;
};

output "left-out", "right-out" {
device: "alsa" {device: "hw:0"; ignore_xrun: true;};
#device: "file" {path: "/home/volumio/2.pcm";};
#device: "file" {path:"/dev/stdout"; };
sample: "S32_LE";
channels: 2/0,1;
};
## FILTER ##

filter "leftfilter" {
from_inputs: "left-in";
to_outputs: "left-out";
coeff: "left";
};

filter "rightfilter" {
from_inputs: "right-in";
to_outputs: "right-out";
coeff: "right";
};

NOTES:
1) Tested while riunning top to see CPU util.
2) Input is from /dev/stdin
3) Caution: the system works best and sometimes only with S32_LE format.

Issues:
1) sometimes the system just hangs. MPD restart get the system going.
2) The mpd.conf is overwritten.
3) Bandwidth. My current WiFi card gives below 4mbs speed.

Does anyone knows how to prevent the mpd.conf from being over written?
Any ideas how to monitor why the system crashes?

AlleyCat
AlleyCat
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 26 Feb 2016, 01:50

Re: RUNE Audio and Brutefir (Convolver for Roomcorrection)

Postby AlleyCat » 09 May 2016, 11:57

Dear Da Alchemist,
I'm writing to ask if you could post the SoX command line syntax to convert the REW Export Filer file from wav to pcm?

I exported the Filter Impulse Response to: Mono->24bit->Normalize=yes->48Khz.

I am getting a wav file. I understand that I need to concert the WAV file to PCM, and can do that with SoX. I think once I convert the file to PCM I can start using RuneAudio with room correction and test response with different filers.

With regards
AlleyCat
AlleyCat
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 26 Feb 2016, 01:50

Re: RUNE Audio and Brutefir (Convolver for Roomcorrection)

Postby Da Alchemist » 10 May 2016, 08:56

Of course it is easy to convert a file from wav to pcm with sox:
Code: Select all
sox your.wav -t raw -c 1 -f4 your.pcm


I would suggest you make yourself familiar with rePhase : https://sourceforge.net/projects/rephase/

Do Measurements with REW and let REW suggest you EQ Filters. You can Import your Measurement in rePhase (not needed) and you can Import the Filtersettings manually ( at the moment, this will change perhaps in future Versions) to the Section Paragraphic Gain EQ. In rePhase choose the right EQ type and output format (marked in the Pic below.) Rename your files in your Brutefir config. (bin is the same format as pcm no need to convert) You can vary the Number of taps Samplerate minimum and linear Filters, etc.

Rephase related questions are better placed here: http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-wa ... -tool.html
Attachments
Rephase.png
Rephase.png (135.29 KiB) Viewed 1187 times
Da Alchemist
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 06 Mar 2015, 09:16

Re: RUNE Audio and Brutefir (Convolver for Roomcorrection)

Postby cocogex » 26 Aug 2018, 18:33

Hello,

I whish to install a concolver like Brutefir on Rune. I tried to install the package as shown on the first page of this thread but it doesn't work anymore. The link seems to be dead:

Code: Select all
root@runeaudio(rw):~# pacman -U mpd-rune-0.19.6-1-pipe-output-armv7h.pkg.tar.xz
loading packages...
error: 'mpd-rune-0.19.6-1-pipe-output-armv7h.pkg.tar.xz': could not find or read package


Is there any workaround?

Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Charles
cocogex
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Nov 2017, 23:08

Re: RUNE Audio and Brutefir (Convolver for Roomcorrection)

Postby janui » 27 Aug 2018, 15:44

Hi cocogex,

You can download brutefir packages here:

Modifications/additions to mpd.conf for pipe output for brutefir are pretty well documented in this thread. A good method of automatically including them in mpd.conf is documented here: post25102.html?hilit=mpd.conf#p25085

janui
User avatar
janui
 
Posts: 299
Joined: 20 Dec 2014, 12:55
Location: Ollanda

Re: RUNE Audio and Brutefir (Convolver for Roomcorrection)

Postby cocogex » 29 Aug 2018, 19:00

Hi Janui,

I just saw your answer. Thanks a lot for your help, I will try and keep you in touch.
cocogex
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Nov 2017, 23:08

Re: RUNE Audio and Brutefir (Convolver for Roomcorrection)

Postby cocogex » 02 Sep 2018, 15:42

Hello,

After several attempt and a full reinstallion of the RPI3 beta 0.4 image, I succeeded in making it work :-)

I couldn't beleive it :shock: since I was afraid that the RPI was not powerfull enough.

For the moment I have just made 48000kHz filters. Thus in the mpd.conf file I have setup a resampling to that frequency.

But now I have to work on my filters since it sounds like though a pillow !
cocogex
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Nov 2017, 23:08

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

Previous

Return to DIY and tweaks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests