Rasp freq

Raspberry Pi related support

Re: Rasp freq

Postby nickvas19 » 02 Mar 2017, 15:36

yes it works and it plays more clean...i think!. but if you tell me know and other modifications it will be better.

on the other hand i still some questions.

why some people says that all this modifications is more effective in orion?
also...how can i Isolate a CPU core and separate MPD to run on only this core?!
yes i put maxcpus=1 but i think that i must do something more.

what does he means saying "Enable the kernel optimizations by entering DEV branch"?

is it necessary to disable hdmi from config.txt?i just set it off in the menu.

and somebody tell about these..
For example here I used ACX's profile and put my tweaks in place
# mod1
if [ "$1" == "ACX" ]; then
echo -n performance > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
ifconfig eth0 mtu 9000
echo noop > /sys/block/mmcblk0/queue/scheduler
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
echo 1000000 > /proc/sys/kernel/sched_latency_ns
echo 100000 > /proc/sys/kernel/sched_min_granularity_ns
echo 25000 > /proc/sys/kernel/sched_wakeup_granularity_ns
echo 1 > /proc/sys/kernel/hung_task_check_count
echo 20 > /proc/sys/vm/stat_interval
echo -1 > /proc/sys/kernel/sched_rt_runtime_us
echo 5 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_background_ratio

I also increased the priority of the audio threads in the same file as well as putting MPD on its own core, under the Common Start up section.

renice 19 $(pidof nmbd)
taskset -c -p 1 $(pidof mpd)
renice -10 -p 3
renice -10 -p 12
renice -10 -p 16
renice -10 -p 20

that are about?! and where shouild i write it?!

at last i listen it more carefully i notice that the depth gone.
nickvas19
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 01 Mar 2017, 19:31

Re: Rasp freq

Postby Discovery » 02 Mar 2017, 22:30

Why Orion? Each sound signature can sound slightly different on some systems. The developer of the new settings liked the 'Orion' settings as a starting point.

How to isolate the cpu - see the-new-4-core-raspberry-pi-t862-40.html?hilit=core%20raspberry#p5398

The DEV branch is a newer development version of the RuneAudio app - this is needed for some of the modification to work.

HDMI - your choice.

If you have an ethernet connection to your Pi instead of using wifi, disabling the wifi will reduce the boot time to around 10 seconds. This can be achieved by typing 'systemctl disable netctl-auto@wlan0' in a console session, i.e. PuTTY.

Your four 'renice -10' instructions go in the Orion profile. See extract from ealier post below:-

Orion Optimize Mods (/var/www/command/orion_optimize.sh)
nano /var/www/command/orion_optimize.sh
##################
# common startup #
##################
#if [ "$PID" != null ]; then
#echo "Set priority for: cifsd"
#renice -20 $PID
#fi
cifsprio pid=$(pidof cifsd)
echo "Set normal priority for: rune_SY_wrk"
renice 20 $(pgrep rune_SY_wrk)
echo "Set normal priority for: rune_PL_wrk"
renice 20 $(pgrep rune_PL_wrk)
echo "Set normal priority for: smbd"
renice 19 $(pidof smbd)
echo "Set normal priority for: nmbd"
renice 19 $(pidof nmbd)
#runeFrost
renice -10 -p 3
renice -10 -p 12
renice -10 -p 16
renice -10 -p 20


The 'renice 19' instruction should be already present in the Orion file. I don't recognise the 'taskset' instruction so can't advise on that one.
Discovery
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 06 May 2015, 08:22
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Re: Rasp freq

Postby nickvas19 » 02 Mar 2017, 23:53

So how can i enable the dev branch and which modifications needs it?

The systemctl disable netctl-auto@wlan0 where i write this? In the config.txt?or like sudo nano systemctl disable netctl-auto@wlan0?

Yes i know every signature have a different sound but now the archlinux sounds with less bass than with defaults settings. Is this normal? I thought that it will be with more depth.. And not more trebly and less bass..

And here
root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rw rootwait console=ttyAMA0,115200 console=tty1 selinux=0 plymouth.enable=0 smsc95xx.turbo_mode=N dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 kgdboc=ttyAMA0,115200 elevator=noop isolcpus=2,3

For one cpu i will change only the last one? Like isocpus=0? Or i must put the cpus that i dont want to use like isolcpus=1,2,3? And all these i must put it in the same line with the existent before the quiet?

Also to continue says.. That...and i dont understand what is about. Before we make working only one cpu. So why somebody these modifications?
To retrieve or set a process's CPU affinity you have to use taskset.

If you want MPD assigned to core 3 you have to edit /usr/lib/systemd/system/mpd.service:
CODE: SELECT ALL
[Unit]
Description=Music Player Daemon
After=network.target sound.target

[Service]
ExecStart=/usr/bin/taskset -c 3 /usr/bin/mpd --no-daemon
Restart=always

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

A big thanx and sorry about my questions if it is a bit tiring
nickvas19
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 01 Mar 2017, 19:31

Re: Rasp freq

Postby Discovery » 03 Mar 2017, 07:31

Hi nickvas19,

You appear to be making some progress but there is still some work to do.

All the answers to your questions are available from my original reply, and the links I have supplied. Please re-read these and you may notice the answers now that you have learned more.

Regards,

Trevor
Discovery
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 06 May 2015, 08:22
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Re: Rasp freq

Postby nickvas19 » 03 Mar 2017, 11:38

is not so clean the answers and not in detail with simply english.

i read all of them many times. So if you want to explain me about if i would be very pleasant.

At last it will be better for all of us i think some sticky threads with videos. In my opion is better to see a video 3-4minutes rather to read 2 pages how to do because as i see where a lot of people having this app.

Thanx for all my friend, i will be wait if somebody else give me a hand.

my main worry first if it is right all the command that i write... and here it is.

sudo nano /boot/config.txt
gpu_mem=16
disable_pvt=1

# uncomment to overclock the arm
avoid_pwm_pll=1
arm_freq=666
sdram_freq=333
core_freq=333
gpu_freq=300
over_voltage=-10

sdram_schmoo=0x02000020
over_voltage_sdram_p=-5
over_voltage_sdram_i=-14
over_voltage_sdram_c=-6

also where i put this....systemctl disable netctl-auto@wlan0?!

at last the sudo nano /boot/cmdline.txt
here as i write before in the end a have the maxcpus=1.so there is not reason to write this because i must isolate cpu and after to make to separate MPD to run on only this core.Before somebody tell that i am ok...
also in cmdline.txt....where i put the commads. In the same line as the others before the quiet?!

i make it clean with the orion and other ...a big thanx again.

also ...which modifications needs DAV?

it is necessary to disable HDMI from config.txt ....or if it set it off stops at all?!

please somebody tell me the steps in detail to make only one core works and after isolate to MPD.

i work i putty just to know.thanx again
nickvas19
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 01 Mar 2017, 19:31

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

Previous

Return to Raspberry Pi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests
cron