Can't mount SMB/CIFS Share from the UI (solved)

Please report any bug found here

Can't mount SMB/CIFS Share from the UI (solved)

Postby EddieA » 20 Mar 2017, 19:20

But it mounts at the command line:

Code: Select all
[root@runeaudio ~]# mount -t cifs -o username=eddie //Nethserver/iTunes/Music /mnt/MPD/NAS/
Password for eddie@//Nethserver/iTunes/Music:
[root@runeaudio ~]# ls -l /mnt/MPD/NAS/
total 0
drwxrws---  3 1568800500 1568801105 0 Mar 15  2015 10cc
drwxrws---  3 1568800500 1568801105 0 Mar 15  2015 21st Century Schizoid Band


OK, the permissions are all wrong because I didn't use the same mount options as Rune.

But attempting to do exactly the same from the UI always results in: mount error(13): Permission denied

Interestingly, there is nothing logged at the file-server to show the connection was ever attempted. If I run the command line mount and deliberately put in a wrong password, that is logged at the file-server.

What information can I capture at Rune to debug this.

Cheers.
EddieA
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 30 Jan 2017, 22:06

Re: Can't mount SMB/CIFS Share from the UI

Postby EddieA » 23 Mar 2017, 01:04

OK, after a load of Google-fu and comparing mount options between a command line CIFS mount and a Rune UI mount to a different server from my file server it turned out that I had to add an Advanced option, mount flags: domain=

I'm guessing that it's because my new file server is running a Samba Domain Controller.

Cheers.
EddieA
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 30 Jan 2017, 22:06

Re: Can't mount SMB/CIFS Share from the UI

Postby EddieA » 25 May 2017, 21:16

OK, I'm resurrecting this thread. :D

After updating Samba on my server from samba-4.4.4-12.el7_3.x86_64 to samba-4.4.4-13.el7_3.x86_64 I am no longer able to connect. All attempts fail with:

Code: Select all
[2017/05/25 12:47:27.215357,  0] ../source3/auth/auth_domain.c:225(domain_client_validate)
  domain_client_validate: unable to validate password for user eddie in domain DISCWORLD to Domain controller NSDC-NETHSERVER.BOGOLINUX.NET. Error was NT_STATUS_WRONG_PASSWORD.


However, if I issue the following command lines, then all is well:

Code: Select all
mkdir /mnt/MPD/NAS/iTunes
chown mpd:audio /mnt/MPD/NAS/iTunes
mount -t cifs //Nethserver/iTunes/Music /mnt/MPD/NAS/iTunes/ -o username=eddie,password=********,ro,cache=none,domain=DISCWORLD,uid=1000,forceuid,gid=1000,forcegid,rsize=16384,wsize=17408


What information can I collect to see exactly what mount command is being issued in the background.

Cheers.
EddieA
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 30 Jan 2017, 22:06

Re: Can't mount SMB/CIFS Share from the UI

Postby hondagx35 » 25 May 2017, 21:57

Hi Eddie,

the cifs mount command is something like this:
Code: Select all
mount -t cifs "//192.168.0.106/Musik" -o username=xxxxx,password=xxxxxxxxx,sec=ntlm,soft,uid=1000,gid=92,rsize=16384,wsize=17408,iocharset=utf8,cache=none,noserverino,ro "/mnt/MPD/NAS/Musik"


You can enable logging on the dev page (http://rune-ip/dev)
The log to check is /var/log/runeaudio/rune_SY_wrk.log

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 3042
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: Can't mount SMB/CIFS Share from the UI

Postby EddieA » 26 May 2017, 21:15

OK, it's the "sec=ntlm" parameter that causes this.

If I enter the exact command as Rune in the command line, I get the "Permission denied" error. If I drop the "sec=ntlm" parameter, or change it to "sec=ntlmssp", then the mount is successful.

I tried to add "sec=ntlmssp" to the Advanced options, but that just causes both versions to be presented on the command line, which still fails.

Side note: When selecting Advanced options, the Mount flags box is pre-filled with "cache=none,ro", but typing anything removes those, not adds to them.

Cheers.
EddieA
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 30 Jan 2017, 22:06

Re: Can't mount SMB/CIFS Share from the UI

Postby hondagx35 » 27 May 2017, 00:35

Hi,

please try the "OS x share" it adds "nounix,sec=ntlmssp" to the options.

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
 
Posts: 3042
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: Can't mount SMB/CIFS Share from the UI

Postby EddieA » 28 May 2017, 00:36

Frank,

Yep, using that suggestion allows the mount from the UI. Thanks.

Cheers.
EddieA
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 30 Jan 2017, 22:06

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal


Return to Bug report

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests