Not connecting through wifi but is connecting with ethernet

Raspberry Pi related support

Not connecting through wifi but is connecting with ethernet

Postby tushar » 09 Jan 2016, 17:22

Hi people I am a beginner so please help me out with the problem I am having,
I have a router which has both wifi and ethernet port.
When I start the raspberry pi 2 the program works perfectly fine.
When I try to connect it using any wifi device it does not connect, but when i connect to it using ethernet it works perfectly fine.
Can anyone tell me what to do so that i can connect it using any wifi device.

router = D-link DSL-2750U
version of runeaudio = v0.3-beta
Raspberry pi 2 is connected through ethernet

THANK YOU IN advance :D
tushar

Re: Not connecting through wifi but is connecting with ether

Postby Cloth Ears » 09 Jan 2016, 21:27

I would hazard a guess that you cannot be connected to the pi by ethernet and wireless at the same time. Might that be the basis of the problem?
Cloth Ears

Postby hondagx35 » 10 Jan 2016, 12:34

Hi tushar,

welcome to RuneAudio.

When I try to connect it using any wifi device it does not connect, but when i connect to it using ethernet it works perfectly fine.

For me it's not clear what your problem is:
    * Would you like to use a wifi dongle instead of ethernet on your RaspberryPi to connect it to your router?
    * Or would you like to open the UI from a wifi device like a smartphone or tablet?

@ Cloth Ears:
I would hazard a guess that you cannot be connected to the pi by ethernet and wireless at the same time.

On all newer devices (RP2, ODROID and cubietruck) this works fine.
I have both (ethernet and wifi) enabled on all my devices.
The only problem with this setup is, that you can't use avahi/bonjour with it.
So you have to use the ip address instead of "http://runeaudio" or "http://runeaudio.local"

Technically the network management is done with "netctl":