Kernel Headers

Raspberry Pi related support

Kernel Headers

Postby ow25 » 30 Aug 2014, 13:57

Hi

In a separate post i asked about kernel headers but didn't get very far so parked it for a while. Today i thought lets look at it again as i'd like to see if RuneUI is worth changing too.

I normally run my custom build stripped down debian with gitcloned volumio v1.3 and mpd.0.18.11 to suit my needs.

The following is how i got the kernel headers installed, i'm no linux expert so it might not be the best way. Log in as root and then.

-> pacman -Syy
-> pacman -S linux-raspberrypi
-> pacman -S linux-raspberrypi-headers

the above will install the latest 3.12.26-1-ARCH but it looks like runeui is setup to run linux-rune-3.12.19-2-ARCH.img as default and doesn't like it when you change it on it via SSH with commands like "pacman -S --force linux-raspberrypi", the gui will stall.

so... try
-> cd /boot
-> rm linux-rune-3.12.19-2-ARCH.img
-> cp kernel.img linux-rune-3.12.19-2-ARCH.img
-> reboot

Lets see if that worked... you should now be able to go
-> uname -r
3.12.26-1-ARCH

I was able to build the driver i needed with the above steps to get the kernel headers.

Cheers

btw, may i suggest that in the next distro release of runeaudio that the snd-usb-hiface drivers be installed as standard? there are a few dacs that use it including computer audiophiles product of the year and what hi-fi's best sub 1000 pound dac.
Last edited by ow25 on 30 Aug 2014, 21:40, edited 1 time in total.
ow25

Re: Kernel Headers

Postby cmh714 » 30 Aug 2014, 15:13

From what I have done and seen, you could leave the .26 kernel name as is, and you can change config.txt to match.....having said that, I didnt try to see if it works, basically, I have done the same as you, I am running on a fully updated kernel and image.
cmh714

Postby ow25 » 30 Aug 2014, 21:37