[BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Raspberry Pi related support

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby dmcRune » 17 May 2016, 00:17

I must have done something wrong. Thanks for setting me straight!
dmcRune
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 May 2016, 21:07

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby hondagx35 » 17 May 2016, 00:31

Hi dmcRune,

I must have done something wrong. Thanks for setting me straight!

No problem, i only commented to this to not confuse other users.

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
Moderator
 
Posts: 2649
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby pelliott321 » 26 Sep 2016, 22:20

I apologize for being such a noob
but
I have Raspberry Pi3 with HiFiberry Pro DAC (Latest)
its on the network (wifi) with NAS Mounted and radio stations visible
need to get DAC configured
I loaded OpenSSh on windows 10 machine but do not know how to log on to Pi from SSH so I can do the commands of this thread
IP of wireless PI is 192.168.1.32
pelliott321
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 02 Sep 2016, 20:31
Location: Baltimore Md., USA

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby hondagx35 » 27 Sep 2016, 16:42

Hi pelliott321,

need to get DAC configured

With latest image the DAC should work with hardware volume (HW) without changes.

Or do you need to edit the config.txt file to activate your DAC in general?
If so, install Notepad++ on your Windows10 PC and put the SD card back in your PC to edit this file.

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
Moderator
 
Posts: 2649
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby pelliott321 » 28 Sep 2016, 21:22

I have RPi3 with HIFIberry DAC +Pro working on wifi with NAS volume connected using software volume control
I would like to do this fix but really know nothing about SSH and connecting to the PI
I installed Putty on Windows 10 machine, and know the IP address of the PI
I do not know how to log on. I believe the user name is "raspberry" but what is the password?
pelliott321
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 02 Sep 2016, 20:31
Location: Baltimore Md., USA

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby hondagx35 » 28 Sep 2016, 22:09

Hi pelliott321,

best would be to read the docs!
http://www.runeaudio.com/documentation/ ... nced-users

user: root
pwd: rune

But again, hardware volume (HW) should work without modifications!
So what is your problem?

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
Moderator
 
Posts: 2649
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby pelliott321 » 29 Sep 2016, 11:07

I apologize for being such a neophyte and appreciate your time patience and efforts
I did not read the whole thread before posting
I never tried the HW setting because I did not really understand it
Then I started to read this thread so I wanted to give it a try.
So now I will without editing your script
pelliott321
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 02 Sep 2016, 20:31
Location: Baltimore Md., USA

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby dunghnguyen » 30 Sep 2016, 15:39

smallfat wrote:Hi Frank,

As our understanding, I2S signal cannot be transmit too long.
There are some proprietary transmission standard, no matter from famous brand or DIY market,
enable I2S signal transmit longer.
I use a conversion board which convert I2S signal to their proprietary standard.
Signal convert back to I2S at my DAC.

I2S.jpg


So I need generic I2S signal like ODROID's I2S out.

Best Regards
Michael

Can you give me the link where I can buy that simple board for usb to i2s conversion? Thanks buddy.
dunghnguyen
 
Posts: 228
Joined: 08 Mar 2016, 07:48

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby Miel » 22 Oct 2016, 23:23

Aloha,

After endless tries, i finally managed to get HW volume control to work (setup: RPI 2, PIFI DAC+ 2), the only problem i have now is the range of the volume. Set to approximately 60 (or any lower value) the audio becomes, well, inaudible :D

From 60-100 i can adjust the volume, but obviously, i would like a bit more fine grained control.
I've added my debug info to pastebin: http://pastebin.com/dLR6b4VM

If anyone can provide some pointers, that'd be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!
Miel
Miel
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 22 Oct 2016, 23:10

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby hondagx35 » 23 Oct 2016, 00:44

Hi Miel,

welcome to Rune Audio.

This is a known issue, but nothing we can solve at the moment.
volume-control-linear-or-logarithmic-t254.html

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
Moderator
 
Posts: 2649
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

PreviousNext

Return to Raspberry Pi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest