[BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Raspberry Pi related support

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby PeteB » 02 Apr 2016, 19:52

Login: root, PW: rune
PeteB
 
Posts: 421
Joined: 06 Feb 2016, 05:07

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby smallfat » 02 Apr 2016, 21:21

PeteB wrote:Login: root, PW: rune


Thanks PeteB

To enable RP 3 GPIO 40 Pin I2S,
I uncomment dtparam=i2s=on of config.txt.
Is it enough? I cannot enable option on MPD

Best Regards
Michael
smallfat
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 23 Nov 2015, 22:16

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby PeteB » 02 Apr 2016, 22:04

smallfat wrote:I uncomment dtparam=i2s=on of config.txt.

Only the line in config.txt which corresponds to your DAC. Remove only one comment, from one line.

config.txt tells the Rune OS which hardware you have. Then after you reboot, the correct driver for your dac will be loaded.

Then you can select your dac in the MPD dropdown list.
PeteB
 
Posts: 421
Joined: 06 Feb 2016, 05:07

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby smallfat » 02 Apr 2016, 23:49

PeteB wrote:
smallfat wrote:I uncomment dtparam=i2s=on of config.txt.

Only the line in config.txt which corresponds to your DAC. Remove only one comment, from one line.

config.txt tells the Rune OS which hardware you have. Then after you reboot, the correct driver for your dac will be loaded.

Then you can select your dac in the MPD dropdown list.


Hi,

Thanks your prompt reply.
I want a generic I2S out to my desktop DAC,
From my experience at ODROID, I need not specific which DAC I am using.
Like picture attached.

檔案 3-4-2016 06 51 59s.jpg
檔案 3-4-2016 06 51 59s.jpg (67.09 KiB) Viewed 559 times
smallfat
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 23 Nov 2015, 22:16

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby hondagx35 » 02 Apr 2016, 23:57

Hi smallfat,

From my experience at ODROID, I need not specific which DAC I am using.

For the ODROID this is correct, but not for the RaspberryPi.
As Pete told you, you have to enable one of the DACs from the config.txt.

I want a generic I2S out to my desktop DAC,

Your desktop DAC? Is it red or green?
A bit more information would help.

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
Moderator
 
Posts: 2252
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby smallfat » 04 Apr 2016, 20:28

Hi Frank,

As our understanding, I2S signal cannot be transmit too long.
There are some proprietary transmission standard, no matter from famous brand or DIY market,
enable I2S signal transmit longer.
I use a conversion board which convert I2S signal to their proprietary standard.
Signal convert back to I2S at my DAC.

I2S.jpg
I2S.jpg (71.04 KiB) Viewed 497 times


So I need generic I2S signal like ODROID's I2S out.

Best Regards
Michael
smallfat
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 23 Nov 2015, 22:16

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby hondagx35 » 04 Apr 2016, 21:57

Hi Michael,

So I need generic I2S signal like ODROID's I2S out.

A generic driver does not exist neither for the Raspberry nor for the ODROID.

Enabling "dtparam=i2s" only enables the hardware, but does not transmit any data.
Al drivers enable this by default, so no need to do it explicitly.

As Pete told you, you have to enable one driver from the list in config.txt.
If the ODROID driver (made for ODROIDs hifi shield) works for your DAC, i would recommend the Hifiberry DAC driver on Raspberry.

This all has nothing to do with the transport media (proprietary transmission standard).

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
Moderator
 
Posts: 2252
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby smallfat » 05 Apr 2016, 01:36

Hi,

Actually, on my ODROID C1 plus case,
when I select ODROID DAC, I get I2S signal.

Via the conversion board, signal pass to my DAC. Sound very well. Nearly 60-70% performance compare with my CDM3 CD player.

If I provide better quality of power, performance
even better.

Best Regards
Michael
smallfat
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 23 Nov 2015, 22:16

Re: HiFiBerry DAC+PRO HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby dmcRune » 16 May 2016, 21:31

Slightly off-topic - different DAC and RPi 3, but this might save some frustration:

For my RPi 3 and HiFiBerry DAC+PRO. Hardware mixer is working by changing the
name for the device in the redis-cli command to "Digital" instead of "Digital Playback"
or "PCM".

Again, please note that this information is for the DAC+PRO not DAC+.

Thanks to all for providing the information on this topic.
dmcRune
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 May 2016, 21:07

Re: [BugFix] HiFiBerry DAC+ HW Volume (RuneAudio 0.3-beta)

Postby hondagx35 » 16 May 2016, 22:19

Hi dmcRune,

For my RPi 3 and HiFiBerry DAC+PRO. Hardware mixer is working by changing the
name for the device in the redis-cli command to "Digital" instead of "Digital Playback"
or "PCM".

With the latest version for RP2/RP3 this is the default, so no need to change anything!

Frank
User avatar
hondagx35
Moderator
 
Posts: 2252
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 22:06
Location: Germany

support RuneAudio Donate with PayPal

PreviousNext

Return to Raspberry Pi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest