HiFiBerry Amp+ vs DigiAMP+

Everything about Hi-Fi equipment

HiFiBerry Amp+ vs DigiAMP+

Postby deef » 24 Jan 2016, 23:01

Topic pretty much sums it up, which one would you guys recommend for me to go with?

The price tag is somewhat lower on the HiFiBerry solution, so that's what I'm currently leaning towards, unless there's something I need to know, I'm open for suggestions.

Thanks.
deef

Re: HiFiBerry Amp+ vs DigiAMP+

Postby RaspberryQuiche » 18 Feb 2016, 22:26

I am on that quest too! My current amp is falling apart and I wan to replace it with an amp that fits on the Raspberry Pi. I use my Pi to play music and videos from internet and my NAS.

So I hesitate between the HiFiBerry Amp+ and the IQAudio DigiAmp+. But since I am new to this world of DIY HiFi, I have some questions!

1- My Pi is on all the time. I think that the DigiAmp+ has a mute option and the HiFiBerry doesn't. How much current would the Pi and the amp draw when muted? Same as not muted? I don't mind having a Pi drawing 2-3 watts all the time, but 35 watts is quite more.

2- I know I can use a physical volume control on the DigiAmp+, which is a very good reason for me to got this route. But I saw another post here saying that the guy has a volume knob on his HiFiBerry. So it IS possible on the HiFiBerry? If so, is it something I can think of doing (as a newbie)? Is it harder to achieve than on the DigiAmp+ ?

3- I know that in 2016, we can easily listen to radio on the internet, but I still want to use a hardware FM receiver. Can I do it with the Raspberry Pi and the HiFiBerry/DigiAmp+? Then can I use a physical knob to control the frequencies? How about a physical switch to toggle between FM radio / Raspberry Pi audio (music and videos)?
RaspberryQuiche

Postby PeteB » 19 Feb 2016, 22:15

This is pretty much what I am doing...